Pecans – Who Knew?

I mean, I knew that nuts were high in calories, but wow!

I had yogurt for breakfast, tossing in a few pecans to spice it up. Logged into Lose It! to record the breakfast, and was momentarily annoyed to see that in order to enter pecans, I couldn’t go by how many pieces, but had to go by ounces.

Of course, weight loss veteran and kitchen gadget junkie that I am, I have 2 food scales. 10 pecan halves weight 1 ounce. On both scales. And registered 210 calories!!!

My daily calorie balance is 1,392, so 210 calories for that tiny handful of pecans + another 200 for the yogurt really eats up my balance. I’m eating 2 medium-sized carrots now – an emotional response to being worried this early in the day that I won’t get enough to eat.

I realize how ridiculous it is to worry that I, needing to lose 80 pounds, might not get enough to eat. Gives you some insight into my struggle, yes?

This entry was posted in emotional and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

