Worst Enemy

There’s something I’m not doing that I know I should be doing. I know it helps, I know it motivates me, and yet I haven’t started. Why do I so readily sabotage myself, refusing to do something I know will help me achieve my goal? As my friend says, we are our own worst enemies.

Today, another benchmark in the detente between me and these 80 pounds. I will start keeping a food journal.

Study after study has shown that people who keep food logs are more successful at losing weight and keeping it off (or making it stay lost, or never looking for it again!) than those who do not. I’m not going to give you a citation or anything – if you want to fact check me, go here.

Today, therefore, I’m firing up Lose It! This is an iPhone app that not only logs what you eat, but tracks your weight and exercise also (if you enter it) and gives you a calorie goal per day based on losing 1 or 2 pounds per week.

I’m particularly fond of the fact that you can enter housecleaning or sex as exercise. I don’t do nearly enough of either. For the housecleaning, I’ve hired someone to help us once a week. Not really an option for the other.

This entry was posted in exercise, nutrition and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

