Non-Food Rewards

We both reward ourselves with food. My husband, however, also bikes at least 100 miles a week, has a very active job, doesn’t really crave sweets, and is 6’2″.

Given the importance of setting short-term goals with a big weight loss project like mine, and knowing that I can’t get away with choosing food as a reward (at least not every time), I have decided than when I get to ten pounds lost, I’m getting a nifty pedometer.

Nifty = not cheap like the one I have now. The one that clicks LOUDLY and seems to add steps at random intervals that have nothing to do with how often I put one foot in front of the other.

I’m trying to think of a better reward for meeting my next goal, which is losing 10% of my body weight. That is, losing 23 pounds, which will put me 6 pounds away from another benchmark, the 200-pound barrier.

Please share your suggestions on pedometers you like (or don’t like), and other non-food rewards you have used to help keep you on track.

This entry was posted in goals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

