Pulling It All Together

I ate well (enough) yesterday, but I didn’t log my food, and I didn’t weigh myself, and I didn’t make it to the gym. I woke up this morning—earlier than planned, thanks to a wacky dream about spiders the size of small mammals—and turned to you, faithful interwebs, for some moral support or at least a distraction until the sun comes up.

I found a great 3-part series in a blog (here’s part 2) that could not have popped up on my screen at a better time. I googled ‘feminist weight loss blog,’ because I’ve been having issues reconciling my desire to lose weight with my anger over how society copes with me as a fat woman.

This is an oversimplification, but I’m sitting here realizing that I can’t allow my personal politics prevent me from doing things that are good for me.

I have been building a pretty strong wall with the can’ts and the fears I carry around, and I need to acknowledge those feelings and keep going. I am not betraying anyone if I lose weight. I am not judging anyone else’s choices. I am not implying everyone should join me. Losing weight will not change who I am or what I believe.

Long ago, before we were married, my then-boyfriend would often act outrageously obnoxious in public places. I would strenuously (but quietly, whispering desperately for him to cut it out now) object to his behavior, until he pointed out that I seemed very concerned with what people would think his behavior meant about me, when obviously, people were really far more apt to associate his behavior with, um, HIM. Not me.

I fear this is less than eloquent, especially after Greta Christina’s piece, but hey, I am exhausted from dreaming about these funky spiders, so I’m going to go weigh myself, record my food from yesterday, and go back to bed.

This entry was posted in cultural, emotional and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

