If It’s All About Balance . . .

Fit & flexible in my 40s—that’s a goal. To get there, I’ll have to achieve balance in my health, mind, body, and soul.

So, it just made sense to try the BOSU thingamajiggy at the gym this afternoon.

That’s right, I hit the gym this afternoon, even though I spent the morning coping with the after-effects of a little gluten binge last night. WOOT!

I’m very proud of myself, because I didn’t just go to the gym, I used it. I did both cardio AND weights. I wouldn’t have blown you away with the intensity level, but I walked a mile on the track, then did a circuit on the machines. I didn’t want to push too hard, since my stomach was rather unsettled, but I did push as hard as I have since I joined the gym the last week of September.

In the middle of the workout, I noticed a) no one was in the little area with mats, balls, jump ropes, and such, and b) next to the balls were three BOSUs. Is that the plural? Who knows. BOSU stands for BOth Sides Up, so presumably you can use them in either direction, but I haven’t yet found a picture of what I did.

Basically, for five minutes, I stood on the flat side with the ball/convex part on the ground, trying desperately not to bail out in front of everyone stabilizing my core.

It was strangely relaxing. I’d already walked a mile, so was eager to rest for a bit, which I think helped me balance better. I’m going to look into actually learning how to use this thing.

This entry was posted in exercise and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

