Walk a Mile, Faster

Ten laps on the floating track at the new gym = 1 mile. The normal route for a quick walk of the dogs = 1 mile. The average time it takes me to walk that mile, either mile, is 20 minutes, almost exactly.

So, yes, the world record-holder in the mile would lap me five times, but I’m not going to let that worry me. I am, however, now motivated to see if I can knock that 20 down to 15 minutes. I think I should be able to, as I used to do the 3-mile loop at the park in about 45 minutes.

I’m not big on running (even when I was skinny, I had bad knees, and running never seems to feel right), but even when I used to periodically jog, that 3-mile loop would still take me about 45 minutes. I think I can walk faster than I can run!

This entry was posted in exercise, goals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

