I Live in an Ostrich House

A new bathing suit arrived with yesterday’s mail. I will forever applaud Land’s End for creating options for women in need of larger sizes! I love the neckline on this suit, and I think I will keep it (I’m waiting to try one more that was back-ordered). I especially like the neckline, which is rather more modest than what I usually pick in a bathing suit, but which seems really flattering.

I have no idea how the rest of the suit looks, and with any luck, I never will, because I live in an ostrich house.

My house is designed so that I can stick my head in the sand and pretend I am not fat. I have no full-sized mirrors, and very, very, very few pictures of myself.

If I don’t have to confront how I look, I can pretend I don’t look that way. I can instead gaze upon the photo of my 18-year-old self on graduation day, thin and deeply tanned, ready to tackle the world.

Perhaps it is not so healthy to live in an ostrich house. I bet you could make the case for my having body dysmorphic disorder, although it seems that I’d have to be frantically worried about a specific body part instead of my overall appearance.

We’re getting our pictures taken at our group next week, and frankly, my first thought was wondering how to avoid having mine taken. We’ll see if I’m up for it.

This entry was posted in emotional and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

