Don’t Go Too Fast (But I Go Pretty Far)

Third time in four days for me at the gym. This time, I went armed.

With music, I mean. (I can see how you might misinterpret that, knowing I live in Texas.)

I can’t stand iPod earphone/ear buds, because they won’t stay in my ear very well. I also worry about losing my hearing; rather, losing more of my hearing. But, it is an undeniable fact that good music helps me boost my exercise intensity.

My new playlist helped me walk 1.5 miles in the same amount of time it took me to walk a mile on Monday. It includes:

  • Billy Bragg, Waiting for the Great Leap Forward (from Worker’s Playtime)
  • Robert Randolph & the Family Band, Ain’t Nothing Wrong With That
  • Adam Ant, Stand and Deliver
  • OK Go, Here It Goes Again
  • Otis Redding, Shake
  • Plastic Bertrand, Ça plane pour moi
  • The Pogues, If I Should Fall From Grace With Go
  • The Ramones, Do You Remember Rock & Roll Radio
  • The Skatalites, Guns of Navarone
  • The Dollyrots, Brand New Key
  • Bishop Allen, Eve of Destruction

Not only did I go faster and farther, I burned enough calories that I took the advice of my nutritionist and added a quick hit of extra protein to my meal plan. Never has a bite of light cheese tasted so good.

The best part of the workout has to be that I was lapped—three times—by a woman wearing a house dress, curlers, and a hair net. I wanted to get a photo, but the only place I could have done that would have been the locker room, and that really didn’t seem like a good idea.

This entry was posted in exercise, humor and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Don’t Go Too Fast (But I Go Pretty Far)

  1. I have been thinking of joining a gym again after a gap of a few years. I think that taking my own music might make it just about bearable. Thanks for the reminder.

    (oh and how funny about that woman in curlers!)

  2. Pingback: 8 3/4 Laps | Balancing My Chemicals

  3. “I can’t stand iPod earphone/ear buds, because they won’t stay in my ear very well.”
    Haha yea. I buy the cheapest over-ear clips I can find (like $10 – $20 cheap). My experience is that they always short out from sweat at some point (did I mention I sweat a lot?) and who wants to replace mega pricey headphones every 6 – 12 months.

    • I’ve never replaced any, but it figures they’re pricey. Both of us are on our 2nd iPhones, and we have 2 iPods, so that’s 6 pairs of earbuds that have come with those purchases. I figure I’ll use those until they wear out, then look for something orange and foamy like the comfy headphones that you used to get with your Sony Walkman. In my fantasty world, actually, the gym would just start playing better music, cued to cardio work-outs as far as beats per minutes go, so that I could skip earphones entirely. My hearing is bad enough already. Plus, as you note, sweaty earbuds are not at all pleasant.

Leave a Reply

