I Wish It Tasted Like Cardboard

You’ve seen, no doubt, various television commercials for fiber supplements that emphasize either that the supplement does not taste like cardboard or does not have a gritty texture.

Well, you can put lipstick on a pig, or you can put your pink lemonade-flavored fiber supplement in a crystal tumbler, but that pig is still a pig, and that supplement is still nasty.

I had some shots that were in clearer focus, but I think the fuzzy look does a good job simulating the actual texture of my daily fiber drink. It is as though I were drinking a slushy on the verge of melting—still the mouth feel of a frozen drink, but not at all cold. I’ve experimented to see if adding more water than recommended helps, but it actually doesn’t. The best way to down it is to stir vigorously, then chug it while it is still swirling.

I keep telling myself it is good for me, and I think it is helping to keep my stomach settled, to speak euphemistically, but eeeeeewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

This entry was posted in nutrition and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Wish It Tasted Like Cardboard

  1. lindayoga says:

    I really love your attitude toward yourself and your body. Thank you for spreading the goodness!
    -Linda

Leave a Reply

