8 3/4 Laps

That’s how long it took her to catch me today—8¾ laps.

Yes, the significantly older woman who lapped me a couple of weeks ago was back today. I suspect, based on her superior fitness level, that she walks every day.

I had a little more time to observe her as I walked behind her, so can report:

  • She is not actually wearing Keds, as I originally thought, but what I believe to be kung-fu shoes. Yes, no support, plastic soles. Possibly, they are tai chi shoes, or Toms, but none of those are exactly power-walking footwear.
  • No curlers today.
  • House dress, however, check.
  • Sheer black knee-high stockings.

This woman is a machine. I’m going to try to hit the same time at the gym a couple more times this week to determine whether she’s got a regular schedule, because she motivates me.

Today, I killed the first half of the half-hour, going fast enough that I actually did 16 laps in 29 minutes. Woot!

I’ve determined that Plastic Bertrand’s Ça Plane Pour Moi, while an excellent song, does not match my walking rhythm. The Pogues, Skatalites, and Robert Randolph & The Family Band definitely keep me punching forward on the one. I think those three songs on the mix are the ones most likely to prompt spontaneous dancing some day as I’m making my way around the track.

Four down, one more to go as far as my gym goal for the week. I think I’m going to make it.

This entry was posted in exercise, humor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 8 3/4 Laps

  1. Pingback: Grit | Balancing My Chemicals

Leave a Reply

