The Journey of 10,000 Steps

Last night, I pushed through the exhaustion to go to the gym for my fifth of five times in a week. I didn’t take music and gave myself permission not to push, but I still managed to step pretty lively and make just about 1.5 miles in 30 minutes. Afterward, I visited friends.

Yesterday was the first day in a week that I managed to wear my pedometer the entire day. Many days, I forget to put it on until I get dressed, which, since I work at home, can sometimes be rather later in the day than you might expect. I have been known to clip it onto my underwear on those days.

Oh yeah, I’m fancy.

So, yesterday, I finally had it on all day. When I got to my friends’ house, after the gym, and had been sitting and talking for about an hour, I remembered to look to see where I was. 7,983 steps.

I promptly stood up in their living room and marched in place to get over 8,000. I’m determined to make it to 10,000, but for now, 8K is the highest I’ve gone. These are good friends, because they didn’t laugh at me. Well, they did, but it was more laughing with me.

I’m realizing that with my super-sedentary lifestyle, I’m eventually going to need to up the cardio to an hour a day, most likely, once I’m eating a regular amount of calories. Of course, once I’m eating again, I’ll actually be a little more mobile in general, too, doing things like going to the grocery store. In Texas, you can walk a mile in the grocery store no problem, especially if the parking lot is crowded and you get all the way to frozen foods and realize you forgot something from the veggie section.

In anticipation of my next milestone, losing 10% of my starting body weight, I ordered the Fitbit this morning. By the time it arrives, I’ll be at 23 pounds gone. Maybe, if their shipping is slow and my metabolism fast, 24.

This entry was posted in exercise, goals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Journey of 10,000 Steps

  1. Janet says:

    My last cellphone used to keep track of the steps I made during a day but unfortunately my current one doesn’t offer this service. You are doing great, keep it up. đŸ˜‰
    Janet

    • I cannot believe how motivated I am by things like counting steps. And how totally in geek heaven I am just thinking about my just-ordered wifi pedometer. Thanks for stopping by & saying hello! I appreciate the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

