Milestone! 10% of Starting Body Weight Gone!

I’ve now lost 23 pounds, which equals 10% of my beginning body weight. I do believe I’ve noticed some of the health benefits that I listed back on July 15th, when I had lost 10% of the weight I want to lost and was looking forward to this 10% milestone.

This is what 23 pounds looks like:

Imagine all of these in a backpack.

I’m now 29% of the way towards my goal of 80 pounds to lose. That, too, feels nice.

Last night, before class, the nutritionist offered to run a second bioimpedance analysis that we could compare to the one I did when I first met with her on June 23rd. I never turn down the chance to get hooked up via electrodes to a machine! If you want to know the details of what this test measures, go nuts here, but get your geek on first.

I can bottom-line the results for you: this test showed better numbers than the last, and everything seems to be in a normal/expected range for where I am in the process. I’m losing fat mass, but maintaining lean body mass, which is the goal of the high-protein/low-carb/low-calorie plan we’re on right now.

We are 6 weeks into our liquid-only phase, which means just 6 more weeks to go. Our instructor said we should have all lost about 20 pounds by now, and that we may lose that many again by the end of the next 6 weeks. I’d take that.

As far as new short-term goals, I’m going to aim for five more trips to the gym this week, as well as getting my water intake (~110 oz./day) done earlier in the day so I can stop drinking before bed.

Next major milestone is 9 pounds away—200 pounds.

This entry was posted in diet, goals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Milestone! 10% of Starting Body Weight Gone!

  1. Sounds like you are doing a great job. This post is a source of inspiration. Thank you for sharing your story, it helps me to keep moving!

  2. Janet says:

    Woohoo!! You rock. I have actually reached 15 % by now, it’s nice to play with the numbers every now and then. 😉

Leave a Reply

