How’s That Working Out For You?

I’m not doing any weight-bearing exercises now, as I’m not getting enough calories for my body to recover from them, but there is one muscle I’m trying to build up daily. I’m trying to look at my past food and drink and health choices while asking myself how those choices have been working out for me.

You know all the trite sayings:

  • If you do what you’ve always done, you’ll get what you’ve always gotten.
  • The definition of crazy is doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result.
  • You don’t get rats out of mice.

OK, that last one may not be a popular saying, but you get the point. I’m a smart woman. I have incredible willpower. And yet, too many times in the past, I’ve coped with my unhappiness about being overweight by eating really bad foods in really big quantities.

I know that some of the people in my weight loss group are struggling with subsisting strictly on liquid protein shakes, but not me. For me, this is easy, even when the shakes themselves are gross, grainy, and lukewarm. I’m good at bright-line rules. I’m more worried about what is going to happen in 3 months, 3 years, when I’m standing alone in the grocery store looking at a piece of cake, or a whole cake, or driving around hungry passing fast food restaurants.

Will the long-term reward of being healthier be enough to keep me from falling back on old habits and (de)coping skills? Or will a skinnier me be cocky, thinking that just one, then one more, then a few more are something I can handle?

Karen, on Waisting Time, had an aha moment while reading. The ‘beam me forward, Scotty’ exercise is what I’m talking about, the kind of visioning that athletes do to teach themselves to hit the ball, swing the club, nail the turns the way they want.

I’m taking advantage of this time when food isn’t in front of me to practice. Yes, I’m visualizing situations in which food will be put in front of me (by me, by chance, by well-intentioned friends or clueless saboteurs) and I will have to make a different choice than the choice I used to make. Because the way I’ve been making those choices has not been working out for me.

The good news, the great news, the hopeful news, is that I’m aware of that and I can change that.

This entry was posted in emotional, goals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How’s That Working Out For You?

  1. Thanks for the mention:) I have read lots of bloggers talk about they use “visualization.” I think it can be a powerful tool. And I love that insanity quote of Einsteins. I’ll add to your list – I have often said in my blog that if I eat what I used to eat, I will weigh what I used to weigh. As a yo-yo dieter, I am living proof of this.

Leave a Reply

