Food, Ho! Plateau, Doh!

The end/beginning is in sight. I met with my dietician yesterday to map out a plan for the final three months of the year.

Starting on October 1st, I’ll be dropping one shake from the plan and add one emergency meal, which consists of a lean or medium-lean protein plus three servings of non-starchy veggies and, if I want to toss it in, a serving of fat. In our household, we’re big fans of baked fish of any kind with roasted veggies, so I imagine that will tend to be my emergency meal. A salad with a lean protein plus dressing could work, too.

I won’t bore you with all of the details, but we’ve mapped out a plan that takes me up to three or four carbohydrate servings per day by the end of the year, as I’d like to maintain a fairly aggressive pound to two-pound per week loss.

To commemorate the fact that I even spoke about eating real food, my scale has stuck me with a 3-day plateau. I’m not worried, because I know it happens, but just wanted to remark upon it because I know how plateaus frustrate everybody. The fact that you can have one even when you are eating only 800 calories a day and doing 30 minutes of cardio every other day suggests that plateaus are going to happen no matter what.

Remember, plateaus are only plateaus because you eventually see a drop at the end. Otherwise, we’d call them floors.

This entry was posted in diet, goals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

