Open My Big Mouth

I should have know. No sooner do I give my husband the side eye for over-salting …

Got my lab results from the most recent blood draw. I’m over-hydrated, so my sodium is low. Yes, medical mystery that I am, I need more salt.

Glad food is coming soon.

This entry was posted in diet, medical and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Open My Big Mouth

  1. Janet says:

    Do you leave out all salt? I have discovered that I can’t eat cauliflower without seasoning it ith some salt/pepper. Well, thinking about it I don’t really add salt but then again I think the seasoning (it’s a mixed blend) I use for my salat does contain a lot of salt. How much do you drink each day?

    • Andie says:

      I’m on all shakes for one more week. They have the recommended daily amount of sodium in them – 2,300 mg. I do 30 minutes of cardio/aerobic exercise 4-5 days a week, and though I do not sweat much, I do sweat. I’ve also been drinking about half my weight in ounces of water each day, which tends to mean 110 oz. or so. I’m supposed to eat a dill pickle or drink a cup of chicken broth/bouillon each day, but that’s what I’ve been neglecting to do. The good news, from my point of view, anyway, is that my potassium level is well within the normal range. I always worry more about potassium than salt, given my medical history.

      Before I knew the lab results, I instinctively knew I was low on sodium. After my Wednesday gym visit, I went to the snack bar and, though it was gross, ate a little packet of salt. I could tell people thought I was crazy, but I felt better almost immediately.

      I’ve never been a person who salts my food, and have only in the past few years been better about using it in recipes. I just assume that I’m getting too much salt, which, when I’m eating bad-for-me hamburgers & fries all the time, is no doubt true. I’ll just keep having to monitor it. For now, though, back to the pickle or broth – my high sodium diet!

Leave a Reply

