Weighting for Results

Sorry about the bad pun. I inherited the problem from my dad. Everything else, I seem to have gotten from my mom.

Photo of 1943 US Public Health poster taken by Michal_Hadassah via Flickr

I’m waiting for results from my mammogram, but I’m not terribly concerned or focused on that. I’m also waiting on results from some blood work, and those are the ones I’m most curious to see. Honestly, I’ve felt dreadful for the past few days. I’ll spare you the details, but I’ve had a few days when I just had to get back in bed and moan for a few hours. I’m fortunate that I work for myself, but that doesn’t mean I can actually afford to lay about until I feel better!

I’m not willing, however, to let feeling sick derail me from going to the gym. I went yesterday and did my typical 30 minutes on the elliptical trainer, but I kicked it up a notch. Usually, I can go no more than 2 miles in 30 minutes; frequently, I come up a little short of two miles. Yesterday, I did 2.13 miles in 30 minutes. I was ahead of my regular pace by about 90 seconds, which felt good.

Today, I took it easy and only got 1.8 miles in 30, but I had big plans. Instead of cruising on out, or doing what I really wanted to do, which was just stand on the machine to watch the 2nd half of the Law & Order SVU episode playing, I did one little circuit on the weight machines.

It has been months since I last did weights, but if I’m going to get this body whipped into shape, I can’t do it with cardio and changing food habits alone.

Fortunately, I love lifting. Unfortunately, when you are on an low-calorie/high-protein/low-carb plan like mine, lifting weights is counterproductive. You start to burn muscle mass instead of fat.

This weekend, maybe even as soon as Thursday, I’m beginning my transition back to food. I’ve unofficially started it, augmenting my four shakes a day with a few ounces of chicken breast or fish here and there on days when I’ve hit it hard at the gym and need an energy boost. I don’t count the damn pickles I’ve been eating as food. Ugh, pickles!

I took it really easy on the weights, but lifted 2,500 pounds total by doing the whole circuit. I cannot wait to really be able to get going on some serious free weights. It’ll probably take some time, so for now, I’m just building up slowly. It feels really good.

Now, off to shower. I scheduled a second massage for myself (got one Saturday, too, although at a different place) because our massage therapist is moving back to her home state. Didn’t want her to leave without seeing the progress I’ve made! 😉

This entry was posted in diet, exercise, goals, physical and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weighting for Results

  1. I hope that the results bring you the answers you are wishing for and that you feel better soon.

  2. Rochelle says:

    Sometimes on days when we think we are going to just do the bare minimum, we can really surprise ourselves (I did that yesterday, too). Good for you for doing the circuit training while feeling crummy! Hope you start to feel better soon! Being ill just makes trying to lose weight all that much harder.

Leave a Reply

