Inspired by Laughter

I had a tumultuous morning, unsettled by a couple of emails and issues—nothing major, but I suppose this is going to be one of those times when I can’t just shake it off or resolve a situation as quickly as I’d like.

I retreated into my morning ramble of errands and thrift shopping.

As I drove from place to place, I listened to Diane Rehm interview John Lithgow. Several times during the interview, he laughed. Not just a polite chuckle, but a full-on laugh that revealed obvious joy, delight, and wonder.

Once was after a reader commented about how much she and her family loved a recording they had of him performing children’s music. The show launched into one of the songs, and as it came to a close, Lithgow was laughing with great enthusiasm and remarking about how long it had been since he’d heard that song. He also confessed that when he’s really enjoying a role, or has wrapped up the day with a great performance, he often cannot sleep from excitement.

Photo courtesy of chrisinplymouth via Flickr

I’m happy with my work situation. I know that I’m extremely fortunate to have a work situation at all, and to have one that I, for the most part and subject to my clients needs’, control.

I cannot think, however, of too many times that I’ve worn out my ribs after a prolonged bout of joyful laughter over something that has come up in my work. Too often, when I’m laughing because of work, it is a cynical, what-else-are-ya-gonna-do kind of laughter. Only very rarely does work provoke an outburst of unbridled glee that bathes my brain in enough endorphins to silence all of my doubts and fears. And that’s just wrong. One more thing to work on in this ever-forward quest.

This entry was posted in emotional, humor and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

