Introducing Food

Today, I begin the transition from the 4-shake-a-day first phase of this plan to phase 2, otherwise known as the rest of my life. Today, I’m drinking only 3 shakes, and adding one meal. The meal will be 28 grams of a lean(ish) protein and 3 servings of non-starchy vegetables.

But that doesn’t tell you much, does it? What fun is a theoretical meal?

I had a late lunch with my mother and two of my close friends. As my mother doesn’t know that I’m even doing this diet, I figured I might as well eat something to keep her in the dark.

[It is possible that she knows. It is possible that she has noticed I’ve lost 38 pounds. So far, however, she hasn’t said anything. Food and weight are topics so fraught with danger as far as our mother/daughter relationship goes that I think it best not to deal with her on this right now.]

I ordered a salad with grilled chicken. I think the amount of chicken on the salad was closer to 3 oz. than 4 oz., so I’m a little short on protein. I know the veggie side of things was short by about a serving. So, I’m about to have a late afternoon snack of a hard boiled egg and a small tomato.

I am so freaking excited to be eating! Also, terrified. But mostly excited.

People who hear about this plan say they could never drink nothing but protein shakes for 12 weeks, but let me assure you, that is the easy part for me. The hard part starts today. Now, instead of knowing that all I can eat is a shake (or maybe a pickle or piece of cheese), I have choices. I have to plan. I have to shop. I have to cook. And I will have to do all of this just about every day for the rest of my life.

Then again, I will see the rewards of making healthier choices every day for the rest of my life, which is a pretty good trade-off.

Onward!

This entry was posted in diet, food log, goals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Introducing Food

  1. J. says:

    good luck with phase 2!

  2. Congratulations and good luck. This may be the hard part, but I have a sneaky suspicion it’ll also be the best part.

Leave a Reply

