A Weighty Editorial

Kudos to Frank Bruni for this great New York Times editorial.

I wondered when Governor Christie’s weight would become a campaign issue. Not because I think it deserves to be one, but because I know how cruel people are. I guess I don’t pay close enough attention, because apparently, the pile-on has begun, and Christie isn’t even running!

But last week, as Christie speculation [about whether he’ll run for president] reached a fever pitch, attention to his corpulence hit critical mass, with the question changing from whether he was too overweight to win to whether he was so overweight that he didn’t deserve to.

The tone was sneering. In a column about Christie’s size in The Washington Post, Eugene Robinson noted that the governor “speaks often about the need for officials to display leadership.”

“Well, Gov. Christie, lead thyself,” Robinson wrote, later adding: “Eat a salad and take a walk.”

In a Bloomberg View column, Michael Kinsley was blunter and meaner, asserting that Christie “cannot be president: He is just too fat.”

So overweight that he doesn’t deserve to win a race for elected office. How hateful and small-minded, and yet obviously, many people judge others exclusively because of their weight.

Let me tell you, if you think you can stomach it, check out Kinsley’s link after you read Frank Bruni’s piece. It is hateful.

I’d like to say something high-minded, but all I can think is that I can always diet, but apparently, Michael Kinsley will always be a pinhead.

I’m thinking it, but because I’m the bigger person, I won’t say it.

Be whatever weight you want to be. Don’t ever let your weight, your body, stop you from accomplishing what you want to accomplish. And don’t ever assume that someone is less valuable because they weigh more than you, more more valuable because they weigh less.

How wonderful to see this on the editorial page of a major newspaper. I just hope people will listen, and that maybe a few people will be a little kinder and a little less judgmental when it comes to other people’s weight.

This entry was posted in cultural, diet and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Weighty Editorial

  1. J. says:

    yeah it’s pretty lousy to “eliminate” him solely on weight. That said, as I was watching him hump along on some local video recently (I live in NY so see clips of him pretty regularly), I was thinking – “man I used to look like that. It’s not a good look.”

  2. ladonnabeeker says:

    Thanks for sharing. I had not read that editorial yet, but it brought up many good points. One being that people are still judging those who are overweight. I think people who have never been overweight have no right to think they can tell others how to fix it. Anyway, kudos are definitely to be given to the writer.

    • Andie says:

      I know – I could not believe that someone actually used the “eat a salad” line. I hope the next salad that guy eats wasn’t washed carefully enough and gives him a few days of mild but persistent digestive tract issues. 😛 And yes, there I go again, stooping to elementary school level. It’s like telling someone who is depressed to cheer up.

Leave a Reply

