A Little Brag, A Big Dinner

On Sunday, I made plans to see some friends. I also worked, and painted a piece of furniture. Realizing my window of opportunity to hit the gym was fast closing, as they have very limited hours on Sunday, I skipped a shower and wore my work-out clothes to see my friends. I stayed longer than I planned, so made it to the gym at 5:30. They close at 6.

Now, the old me would never have even made it to the gym, but would have stayed with the friends.

The slightly improved model walked right in, skipped the locker room, hung my purse on the elliptical trainer next to the one I used, and went like all get-out for 12 minutes until they started shutting down machines.

12 minutes is better than no minutes, and I was determined not to let two days pass with no gym trip.

Then, yesterday, I pushed it again schedule-wise. I turned in something at the very last minute (my own deadline, but still, had to get it done), and tried to talk my husband into a pre-dinner walk to make up for the fact that I’d missed the gym. Several things happened, including me becoming impatient and wanting dinner because we were going out so I could eat! Eat! Eat!

I had a huge piece of wild sockeye salmon, which seemed to have been sauteed in oil, on a bed of arugula and roasted yellow tomatoes. I got a side of grilled asparagus. It was fantabulous and totally worth skipping the gym. 😉

Well, almost. I talked a friend into going for a walk after dinner when the hubs and pups didn’t want to go. We had a great walk. She’s speedy!

When I was about to get in bed and checked my pedometer, I was at 9,925 steps. So, I marched back and forth to the bathroom from the bedroom until I hit 10,000 steps. I wasn’t about to miss out on a 10,000-step day by 75 steps!

So, I let my schedule and my habits slip, but I still managed to work in exercise and time to be healthy. That’s what I’m bragging about. It felt great!

This entry was posted in diet, exercise, goals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Little Brag, A Big Dinner

  1. Rochelle says:

    And you deserve to brag! I don’t know too many people that would get out of bed to get in their 10K!!! And I think it’s the little things like making sure you get to the gym, even if you didn’t get in an hour, that shows that exercise if now part of who you are…..you go despite challenges in your schedule. You do not let life get in the way. That is progress!

Leave a Reply

