Weigh-In Superstitions & Habits

I weigh in at my doctor’s office every Wednesday afternoon, between 5 and 6. Lately, I’ve taken to arriving immediately following a work-out, which means I’m wearing shorts and a t-shirt.

Don’t think that just happened by accident. Even before I was showing up in gym clothes, I was making an effort to wear lighter-weight clothing. And you bet your ass I was taking off jewelry and my shoes.

In the morning, I weight in first thing each day. Sometimes, I have put my hair back in a tiny plastic clip when I get out of bed. I take the clip off, even, which is ridiculous, because I cannot imagine the thing weighs more than a quarter of an ounce.

In fact, I just weighed it, because I want to make sure I’m giving you the FACTS, and it doesn’t even come close to a gram.

But, even so, I remove that little piece of plastic before stepping on a scale that has been officially calibrated never.

Today, I’ve got a doctor’s appointment before the weigh-in, I haven’t had time to go the gym yet, and I probably won’t make it there. There’s a chance that I will force myself to go just so I can wear my work-out clothes.

That’s kind of pathetic, but that’s also what weighing in at the same weight for nine days in a row will do to you. I think I need to just suck it up and realize that what I weigh fully clothed at the end of the day only matters as long as month after month, that number steadily declines. Trying to get a hold of my crazy before it really set in … thanks for listening!

This entry was posted in diet, emotional and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weigh-In Superstitions & Habits

  1. I’m only ever on a scale once a year, when I see my doctor for my annual physical. But I still take off my shoes, jacket and bag. I take my sunglasses, which weigh about as much as your hair clip, off my head and set them aside. And I always, always pee first! Silly, right? It’s kinda good to know I’m not the only one, though 😉

Leave a Reply

