Belts Now an Option, Snuggling Always an Option

A couple of months ago, I tried tying a scarf around my waist as a belt. I didn’t exactly have tons of material to work with. Yesterday, I tried again, and almost felt like I couldn’t get away with it because I had so much material to work withβ€”a good problem to have. To keep the knot from sticking out too much, I tied what I believe to be a half-windsor knot (like a tie), as those rest flatter than a square knot.

I have a couple of other belts I haven’t pulled out of the closet yet. I’m going to wait until I buy some new jeans.

I’ve decided that is one item of clothing I absolutely must get in a current style and size, even if I do eventually grow out of them. I have no idea what jeans are stylish now, and lord help me if it is still the era of the skinny jean.

Yesterday, I took a day off from the gym. I didn’t fight hard enough to fit it into my schedule. On Monday, I’d pushed fairly hard on the cardio, and only did legs on the weight machines before I bonked. It seemed like my body needed a break.

Apparently it still needs whatever it was needing, and I didn’t figure it out, so it helpfully kept me awake until 4 a.m. so I could think about it. On the plus side, I finished reading Jonathan Franzen’s Freedom (only 2 days after our book club met to discuss it – I liked it, but good grief, it was a tad wordy). On the negative side, I see another bonk in my near future.

Back to the positive side, that probably means a nap with the pupsters this afternoon. My darling big puppy snuggled right up against me when I finally did come to bed, doing a little move I like to call his reverse spoon, in which he lies on his side, legs facing away from me, fits his spine along mine, and then tilts his heads so the poof on top (he’s a poodle) tucks right into the back of my neck. This means he can, at the same time, position his forepaws on my husband’s shoulders, which my husband sometimes thinks, I suspect, is me. I totally take credit for it. The little pupster then curls up at my feet. All four of us sleep remarkably well together.

I was prepared for a stall or swing up in weight this morning, having not slept, but I lost another pound. I wouldn’t have worried if I’d been up temporarily, but I will admit it was nice to have one fewer thing to feel grouchy about as I pushed my way into the day.

I’m clearly not pushing very hard, as it is still early and I’ve managed only to eat breakfast, blog, and do a load of laundry, but I am about to initiate the launch sequence for a day of crossing things off lists. Watch out, Houston! I’m about to hit the streets & git’er done.

This entry was posted in environmental, physical and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Belts Now an Option, Snuggling Always an Option

  1. I love the scarf-as-belt idea. I own one belt and one scarf – something I would remedy sooner if I didn’t hate shopping so much – but I need something to distract me while I wait for my knee to heal. Not being able to work out SUCKS! (grumble) Maybe I need a crossing-things-off day, too πŸ™‚

    • Andie says:

      I highly recommend the crossing-off day as a regular feature of the over-scheduled life.

      I wish there were something we could all do (collective blogger vibes) to make your knee heal faster. A guy at the gym made a snarky comment to me about people who work out, then take the elevator down two floors to get to the locker room instead of using the stairs. I told him how fortunate he is to have never had a knee injury. He still looked like still thought he’d zinged me pretty good, but I’ve learned not to overdo it when it comes to the knees.

  2. That’s a wonderful NSV! Did you take your measurements before you started this journey? (I didn’t and I am regretting it. I did take some measurements at the beginning of this month though.)

    The more I am learning about my issues and nutrition, the more your blog title resonates with me. I’ve been learning so much about GABA, serotonin, dopamine, insulin, etc, etc. It’s all a little overwhelming at first. But, knowledge is power! πŸ™‚

    • Andie says:

      I have some measurements, but I’m not sure I trust them. My waist & hips have each gone down 4 inches, and my bust, 2, but it seems like smaller tops are fitting sooner than smaller bottoms. Maybe they weren’t measurements from the very first.

      I’m glad the blog title resonates with you – it still seems odd to me at times, but I picked it to remind myself that this is about balance, about learning how my emotions and physical health work together or at cross-purposes.

  3. nikkianne says:

    Yay for you! It’s so awesome that you have almost TOO MUCH fabric to work with!

    I hope I’ll be jeans shopping again in a few months. I have about 4 pair that actually fit me quite well right now and the selection is staggering! I’m used to having one pair that fits and that’s all.

    Anyhow, keep it up! I bet you’d look pretty awesome in skinny jeans πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

