Friday’s Off to a Slow Start

I worked late last night, and was on my feet from 4 to 11 pm. While I’m in much better shape than I have been for a long time, after taking the dogs for 3 walks during the day and then standing up on a stage all night, I was wiped out.

Judging by the thoughts running through my mind, being tired definitely puts me at risk for making unhealthy choices. So far today, here’s what I’ve had to deal with from my addled mind:

  • Yes, tired mind, breakfast tacos with potato, egg, and cheese on flour tortillas with an icy diet coke would be delicious. But that’s not what I eat for breakfast.
  • True, a cheeseburger with a fountain drink really would be a lovely treat right now. But that’s not what I need for lunch.
  • The writing project I need to finish will be finished much faster if I write it instead of reading blogs about time management.
  • I’m sure the dog can wait for me to take her for a walk, but …

We had a great moment of levity when my little poodle (our 40 pounder – the big guy is 50) got out into the yard and chased our contractor’s daschund. The guys working on our new deck really got a kick out of it, I think in part because she’s been barking so ferociously at them and now they see she’s just a little girl with far more bark and fluff than bite.

So, it is almost noon. I’ve walked not even half a mile, I have work I’m behind on and can’t seem to finish, and it took all of my energy just to force myself to stay on my eating plan. Not every day can be easy. Thanks for letting me complain. I’m going to wash my face, brush my teeth, and see if I can get out the door to check at least one thing off the list.

This entry was posted in emotional and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

