Connecting the Dots

We’ve established that the only exercise I did during the final week of October, except for my airport walking, was shivering. And, I’ve confessed that I didn’t exactly hit it like a champ at the gym when I returned the first week of November.

What I didn’t really consciously notice until yesterday afternoon was that I’ve been falling into a fairly bleak mood. Anxious, frustrated, unable to concentrate, overwhelmed, antsy, and on the brink of tears. Getting something accomplished right now takes enormous effort.

Thanks to my husband for pointing out very directly that I seem to be backsliding into depression. And double-thanks for him then taking me to get a quick reflexology massage. That’s the kind of intervention I like!

I’ve really been on top of all of these feelings throughout the past several months, so while he blissfully fell asleep last night, I ruminated. What has changed?

I’ve been on a really regular eating plan, and although I am now going to start adding one serving of fruit or hummus to my plan, that change hasn’t happened yet.

I’ve got several work projects going, but I’ve had several work projects going for months.

Exercise. Duh. Can I really be having such a drastic reaction to lower levels of endorphins? There’s only one way to find out.

I bought new shoes Sunday. I was about to call them running shoes, but I think they’re more jogger/walkers. They were too expensive to be called sneakers. πŸ™‚

The store was awesome, because they offer a 30-day guarantee. I did hit the gym Sunday, in the new shoes, and about 10 minutes into my workout, I was in pain. Almost 20 minutes in, I had to stop. I emailed my sales guy (he told me to if there were any problems) and he said I should not have any break-in period, that if the shoes hurt, we’d picked the wrong pair, bring’em back.

Yesterday, I took them back, we tried on four more pairs, and got a new one. He insisted on swapping them out for the same price, even though the new ones were $10 more, which he did not have to do but which was greatly appreciated.

I walked last night, after reflexology, and they rocked and rolled, so I should be good to go.

Today is election day. I love voting! I treasure the right, and honor the responsibility by examining candidates and ballot measures. I’m about to lace up and walk over to my polling place.

Time to get back on the exercise horse and see if we can turn this depressive slide around. I simply cannot allow myself to fall into this place, because it is not a healthy place at all. I want to arrest the slide before I have to stage a pharmaceutical/chemical intervention.

Wish me luck & strength! Thanks for all you do to help keep me focused and motivated – it helps more than you know.

This entry was posted in diet, emotional and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Connecting the Dots

  1. trysatori says:

    Good luck to you. I hope you find that balance again!

    • Andie says:

      Thank you! I can’t believe I missed a chance to tie in what I’m going through with the blog title. Just shows I’m not on my game. πŸ™‚ I did have a great workout this morning, so here’s to moving back closer to balance soon.

  2. Rochelle says:

    It’s wonderful that you have a husband that not only recognizes depressive symptoms but is not afraid to approach you about it. That is a good man….and he gets extra props for the massage! I hope that the gym and extra exercise provide you with the mental boost you need. I could use a little of that myself – especially with the time change and the darkness settling in so much earlier now. I hate driving in the dark!
    BTW – I just got back from voting! πŸ™‚ Doing my civic duty makes me proud!

Leave a Reply

