Yes I Take the Elevator at the Gym

After a slacker of a day, I rallied just as rush hour hit full force to visit the gym.

Hoping to participate in a 5K next spring, I’ve been considering starting the Couch to 5K program. I thought I could load it onto my iPod, but no dice. I did get it on my phone, but I didn’t want to carry my phone around while doing intervals, so I opted to just use the stopwatch feature on my iPod (never knew it had such a feature) to do my first set of 60 seconds of running, 90 seconds of walking.

About halfway through, I started to wonder if I was supposed to be doing 90 seconds of jogging with 60 seconds of walking, but decided that I didn’t think I could DO 90 seconds of jogging. I had it right. I did 8 running/jogging intervals, with a five-minute warm-up and cool-down on either end.

On the sixth interval, my knee started to hurt. I’ve had problems with my knees since I ran hurdles in middle school (side note: why they let a short kid like me run hurdles baffles me still), so much so that some of the only Spanish I know other than ordering food and drinks and cussing like a Nicaraguan is how to say I have a bum knee. Mi rodilla es mala, in case you are wondering.

I thought about quitting, but after the 90-second walking interval, I fired it up to go one more time around, adjusting my gait slightly, and no more pain. So, I did the eighth set and gave my knees a break, taking the elevator down from the fifth floor.

I can’t believe I ran! The first few times around were definitely running; the final four were clearly jogging, but still.

I’m going to build slowly. It is much more than six weeks away from the 5K I hope to participate in, but I know that I need time to get my knees used to this. I don’t want an injury. So, yeah, I’ll continue to be the one who gets in the elevator even when some people insist upon making snide remarks about people driving to the gym to exercise and then skipping the stairs. What do they know about me?

When I bought my new shoes last weekend, the awesome sales guy told me they were really good for walking and moderate jogging, but that once I was doing 6-milers, I’d need to come back for some better running shoes. I was so thrilled that he assumed I’d be doing 6-milers that I may just have to go for it. That ought to be happening by next fall at this pace, but just think of how much I’ll look like a runner then!

This entry was posted in diet, exercise and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Yes I Take the Elevator at the Gym

  1. J. says:

    I’d say it’s justified in this case πŸ™‚

    I put a link in today about runner’s form you may want to look at since running is so injury ridden as it is.

  2. Karen says:

    Good for you! I want to get back to intervals someday. Not sure I can run very long though – bad feet.

  3. L-Jay Health says:

    Give yourself time to adjust to new running shoes to break them in. It can take from 2-4 weeks to break in a good pair of running shoes. good post

  4. jess0135 says:

    This is awesome! Screw what everyone thinks about you taking the elevator. I would consider it a well-earned cool down.
    Keep it up and you’ll be running 6 milers in no time.

  5. Well done. I think you earned the ride in the lift

  6. A Healthy Me says:

    If I were to see someone taking the elevator at the gym, I would just think, “Man, they must’ve worked out so hard that they can’t even bear to take the stairs! Kudos to them!”

    Anyone else thinking otherwise simply doesn’t matter.

  7. Shonnie says:

    Ride the elevator — take the stairs — do what you need to do to take care of yourself. let silly people think what they want to think. πŸ˜€

  8. Shonnie says:

    Oh and smile at them and make them wonder what you are up too. πŸ˜€

  9. rikristin says:

    I actually started a run/walk program this evening at the gym too. But no elevator for me since it is all on one floor. Congrats on the compliment from the shoe guy. He sees enough people come through all the time and he wouldn’t say it if he didn’t believe it. So now live up to it and make sure to return for those 6-milers!

    Kristin
    http://www.sheddinginri.wordpress.com

    • Andie says:

      Thanks for visiting – I’m really getting excited thinking about another pair of new shoes, which I’m starting to think of as “real” running shoes. I look at everyone’s feet at the gym to see if there are colors or styles I like. I saw someone in the hot pink shoes that I said I could never wear and started thinking hey, I guess I could wear those … because she looks like she goes FAST in them. Just like that, the link between shoe color and speed that I believed 100% in 4th grade comes back strong. πŸ™‚

    • Andie says:

      Which one are you doing? Couch to 5K or something else? I’m enjoying C25K, but of course keep looking at other ones out of curiosity. We’ll both be running longer distances in no time!

Leave a Reply

