OK, Body Pump It Is

I set this November goal, attend 3 group exercise classes. As of today, November 13th, I’ve done not a single one. And since thirty days has November, I better get going.

Photo by Ronald W. Erdrich/Reporter-News (Abilene)

I’m suited up. I had hoped to make the 10:15 Body Pump class, but I chickened out. Lucky for me, the class runs again at 11:30. I can get in my second shake of the day so I’ve got a few more calories in me, then hit the bricks. Or steps. Or mats. Or whatever surface/devices Body Pump uses. I do think it involves barbells …

My fallback is that if I get to the gym and chicken out a second time, I’ll do the second day of week one of Couch to 5K, which is now loaded on my phone.

I can do this. I can do this. If the class is too hard, I can modify. I can rest. I can drink water or even “tie my shoe,” an exercise avoidance technique every fourth grader masters.

What I cannot do is go for a walk outside, because it is in the 80s and as humid-stinky as a middle school boys’ locker room. Ewwwwww. C’mon, weather, it IS, as I pointed out above, November 13th. Can we please get a crisp fall day?

This entry was posted in diet, exercise, goals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to OK, Body Pump It Is

  1. Karen says:

    I love group fitnes classes but can also be nervous before walking in. I bet you’ll be happy you went:)

    • Andie says:

      I made it into the room & tried to make eye contact with a few people who had set up to ask what we needed, etc., but they all looked away/wouldn’t look up. I didn’t see an obvious instructor, either, and the class was about to start, so I chickened out, and did the Couch to 5K training session instead. Wimpy, I know, but I just didn’t have it in me. I’m going to try again tomorrow.

      • That stinks! What’s with those people?! Maybe it’s the gym. I have “belonged” to two and both had such friendly people once I learned to smile and chat. But I did once try one for one class and was not loving the vibe.

  2. Oh I know that feeling, first day in a new class can be awkward. Well done on sticking it out and doing 5k instead.
    You’ve got me wondering if my gym has a new class program for winter. Must drop by tomorrow to see.

  3. jess0135 says:

    I used to do Body Pump regularly…3 times a week. Don’t be intimidated. The instructors at my gym were very helpful. It’s a great introduction to strength training and made me realize my love of pumping iron. It leaves u sore, but feeling strong (pain is progress, pain is weakness leaving the body).

  4. davidisfat says:

    Just get to it!

    Regards,
    David

  5. heavyevan says:

    So, how’d the class go?

  6. Pingback: It Only Took Three Months To Get Through That Class | Balancing My Chemicals

Leave a Reply

