Made It To Class!

After chickening out yesterday, and then getting all of your encouraging emails, how could I not try again today? Thank you for your help getting me on track this morning.

I did pick a different class:

Nightclub® Cardio: A low-impact, high-intensity workout that fuses traditional aerobics with contemporary dance moves…and brings it back to the basics. NightClub Cardio brings the FUN back to fitness.

This morning was actually Nightclub Light, which seemed more my speed, yet more ambitious than one of my other options, which was a beginner’s cardio class that lasted only 30 minutes.

The class schedule showed a 9:15 start. A 9:10, the studio was dark. At 9:11, one other woman walked up, so I asked if she was here for the class. She seemed not worried at all that the instructor wasn’t there yet, and helpfully answered my questions about the class. Sure enough, we started at 9:15—one instructor, two students! A third woman showed up about 15 minutes late, and that was it for the hour.

I made it through. My aerobics skills and terminology were rusty, but once you’ve grape-vined right, you can get back on that horse pretty easily.

The awesome instructor, who is also a trainer at the gym, talked to me after class. We were standing right in front of a studio that had a Body Pump class going on, so I told her how much I appreciated her friendliness and about my goal of trying 3 new classes this month. She talked me through all I need to know to at least walk into the Body Pump class and get started, so now, when I go back, I won’t have to worry about asking any unfriendly class people for help.

One class down, two to go.  Sixteen days to get it done. I can do this for sure.

This entry was posted in diet, exercise and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Made It To Class!

  1. Shonnie says:

    I am so glad you found a great intructor to chat with. It is fun to change things up with your exercise it keeps things fun and they work better because your muscles don’t get used to what you do. 😀

    Hey we need to get some of your milestones up on the BK wall. How about you posting me some links to your blog that coincide with your weight loss biggies for a start … like your first 20, your 50 and this last 80. Those are some big numbers and I would love to share those posts. If you want to join in just post me the links on the Butt Kickers Wall of Fame link on my blog! 😀

  2. J. says:

    just remember, even if you do a class badly, you are still doing it better than a person not doing it.

    • Andie says:

      The person who came in late was much older than I am, and sat out or modified about half the moves. The snarky, uncharitable me wanted to congratulate myself on not being the “worst” person in class, but the realistic me realized that here was a woman who either couldn’t or didn’t want to do some of these moves, but was there anyway, making it work, and I was just the snarky chicken girl who skipped Body Pump because nobody was friendly enough. I think she won. 🙂

  3. nikkianne says:

    Awesome! I’ve been wanting to do a class too. There’s a new gym in town and I thought I might go to the zumba class

    • Andie says:

      I’m thinking about zumba, too. There’s a huge group of people that have a class outdoors at a park downtown. I’m always amazed that 200+ people will show up in Houston, in August, to exercise outside. Makes me think zumba must be fun.

  4. My gym offers *lots* of classes (multiple going on every day of the week), but I have yet to attend even one. They do intimidate me…still. I have never come across anyone snooty (or snotty) in my gym as of yet, but they intimidate me only because I’m afraid I won’t be able to do it all (or at least not as fast and consistent as everyone else). I should not let that stop me, I know, but it does. So, for now I’m trucking along on the weights and elliptical…and my personal trainer. Down the road, though, this will certainly be a challenge I put up for myself. You always have to try new things. 🙂

    Congrats on making it through and not giving up when the Body Pump didn’t work out!
    -Erica

    • Andie says:

      Keep me posted – I haven’t figured out what my next class is, but I have gone public with the goal/challenge of trying at least 3, so I’ve got to do it. Constant learning keeps us alive.

Leave a Reply

