The Ultimate Support

I pulled the trigger on a new sports bra yesterday, you’ll be glad to know. I ended up at the gym in a sort-of sports bra on Friday, but now that I’m a runner (like how that sounds, don’t you?!), it is clear that sort-of supportive isn’t going to cut it.

I cannot recommend enough that you go for a professional fitting if/when/once you’ve lost a significant amount of weight, or even if you simply haven’t been fitted in a while. I went down 2-3 band sizes—it is a little unclear what my actual size was 55 pounds ago.

The bra I got, the Panache Sport #5021, touts 83% less bounce, though less bounce than what, it does not say. Less than before, I suppose. It also came with quite a little treatise on exactly how it supports me, providing “the ultimate support for any sport,” but in a nutshell, the girls are now front, center, and almost completely immobile.

And, bonus, NO UNIBOOB!

One feature I really like is that the bra closes in the back, like your basic back-closure bra, but it has a very easy to reach hook and eye that you can fasten to pull the straps together once you have it on so your straps won’t roll off your shoulders. It almost feels like a racerback once it is in fastened. You don’t have to use it, but it adds stability.

How ridiculous did I feel jumping up and down in the dressing room to test relative bounce in the bras I tried on? Not so ridiculous that I didn’t do it.

The person conducting my fitting helpfully left me alone for this part of the experience.

I ended up buying one new everyday bra, too, in my new size. I may hit a discount store to pick up a couple of cheaper ones, but as I’d still like to lose another 20-30 pounds, I’m going to wait (and get measured again) before replacing my entire bra wardrobe. Until then, I guess I’ll be washing bras far more often, because I think the old ones need to be retired.

Clothes fit so much better when your bra fits. I noticed this the last time I lost weight – I dropped a t-shirt size just by getting into a size that fit me.

We went to a party last night and I kept looking down at how differently the shirt I had on looked. I really hope no one noticed. Or, I hope that they noticed I looked good, and not that I was noticing that I looked better. 😉

This entry was posted in diet, exercise and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Ultimate Support

  1. I am so tiny on top that it is hard to find bras to fit. I’ve gone the professional fitting route more than once but the small bras tend to have padding that makes me look very unnatural. Oh well… I could have bigger problems. No pun intended.

  2. nikkianne says:

    I also bought a couple new everyday bras about a month ago and my boobs look awesome!

  3. sweetopiagirl says:

    Reblogged this on inspiredweightloss.

  4. I was fitted at a specialty boutique in February this year. I was measured at a 38K. I bought two of them, and they were horribly uncomfortable. I hated wearing bras, period…not that I ever *considered* not wearing one. Now that I have lost 56+ pounds, though, I do not mind wearing my bras. I am not certain if I have gone down in cup sizes (which I would love, by the way), but I know I have gone down in band size. I am now on the tightest row of hooks, which people tell me means the band is too big. So, I may be down to a 36K (or maybe J) now. I have had the most difficult time finding a sports bra to workout in that actually fits *all* of my chest. Do you have any recommendations?

    -Erica

    • Andie says:

      I actually set out from the house to look for Enell bras. Skinny Emmie likes her Enell bra so much that she’s become their blogger:

      http://skinnyemmie.com/2011/03/fitbloggin-sponsor-alert-enell/

      If you hit the sports bra tag at the end of her post, you can see a few other entries she’s written. I remember looking at Junonia.com at some options at one point. If you can’t go anywhere to try on some options, you may have to order several & find an online store with a good return policy.

      I was surprised that I hadn’t gone down a cup size, but I think what happened is that I was not in the right size to begin with, so now I actually fit into the size I thought I was. I’ve got my new bra on right now, and it feels like i have body armor on, but in a good way. And, as it is cold out, it is keeping me warmer than a regular bra would. Bonus!

  5. rikristin says:

    Where did you get the Panache bra? I am looking for a few more with actual support and separation so the girls can hang out next door to each other but not in the same room.

    Kristin

    • Andie says:

      I got it at a local store, but I have seen it online. Google Panache sports bra 5021 and you’ll see multiple hits for it I’ve ordered bras in the past from Her Room and Bare Necessities, and they both seem to have it. When the back hook that pulls the straps together is hooked, you do get a slightly unnatural lift effect, but it is far from a uniboob effect. I have never felt so strapped in and held down while wearing a bra & running. I’m not sure how I ever ran before, in fact, or did any bouncy activity.

Leave a Reply

