Double Down December

OK, folks, time to get it together.

I’ve been slipping. Sure, I continue to lose weight, slowly, but I’m letting some of the habits that I know will lead to continued, long-term success slide. And I think we can all agree that December is not the month to let healthy habits slide.

Thanksgiving lasts but a day, or maybe a couple once you count leftovers, but December is a season, not a day. The eating cues are everywhere. Every damn store I walk into is burning a candle that smells like cinnamon or peppermint, or actually offering cider with mulling spices. Every cash register display has last-minute gift gourmet chocolate treats. And don’t even get me started about gingerbread houses or gumdrop wreaths!

I need a potato ricer but I don’t dare go into any of the high-end kitchen stores right now. I may call the one closest to me and ask them to have it ready at the counter so I can walk in, pay, and walk right out. I’ll smear Tiger Balm on my upper lip to disguise the holiday smell right before I enter, like a medical examiner about to encounter a corpse on the autopsy table. Or, maybe I’ll just mash the cauliflower and potatoes together by hand for one more month.

So, anyway, back to Double Down December. Here’s what needs to happen:

  1. Back to DAILY logging of weight. I have been weighing daily since mid-June, but as my weight loss has slowed in the past 3 weeks, I have continued to weigh almost every day, but I haven’t always recorded it. I’ve had those little jumps – 178 to 179 to 178 to 179 – and knew I’d eventually settle at 178 before doing the same dance with 177, so I just recorded 178 and left recording alone until I got to 177. I need to be able to look at that chart and see how the fluctuation goes, day by day, or the long-term curve will be deceptively smooth.
  2. Back to logging water in Lose It. I’ve been relying on my gym time to down 5-6 cups of water, but as I’ve ramped up my exercise (and so the need for rest days), am no longer going to the gym daily. When I walk the dogs, I drink water before and after, but not during, so I don’t drink as much. And on days I rest, I know I’m not drinking as much as I should be. I need some accountability on the water front.
  3. Back to logging everything in Lose It, period. I find myself neglecting this little tool. When my diet had almost no variety, it was easy to log and easy to reconstruct at the end of the day or even the next morning. Now, however, with more variety, it is too easy to leave something out.
  4. Lifting weights for real. Since I started the Couch to 5K, I’ve pretty much stopped lifting weights. I was using the machines, but lately, I can’t seem to do three sets of reps, not because I can’t lift the weight, but because I am worried about what else I should be doing and bored. I think I’ve gained the strength—physically and mentally—to hire a trainer and get busy with the free weights. Maybe Christmas will come early in the form of a few sessions with an expert who can help me develop two or three different routines to keep me busy.

What have been your most successful weight loss habits and tools thus far? Or, what haven’t you tried yet, but have wondered about? Will you join me for Double Down December? What are you going to commit to doing for the rest of this year?

This entry was posted in diet, exercise, food log, goals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Double Down December

  1. relloh says:

    good plan, December is only as hard as we make it. keep to your goals and you will be ok.

  2. nikkianne says:

    I think my most successful tool is planning ahead. I think I blogged about this, but if I know I am going to have to eat out, I plan ahead what I will get. Or if I plan my exercise for the week, I do it. It’s simple but most of the think just thinking ahead helps me stay on track

    • Andie says:

      I’m getting much better at planning ahead for eating, but I wonder if putting exercise on my calendar would make me more likely to go. I’m actually GOING regularly, but maybe that’s what it will take to get me into those stupid Body Pump classes that seem to have me spooked.

  3. nikkianne says:

    Also, I don’t think you ever emailed me about your gift card! 063619o (at) acadiau.ca

  4. Shonnie says:

    Andie my Girl — sounds like you are staying on top of yourself. It is so easy to stop logging everything. I don’t log my water either. It wasn’t a problem when i could down two bottles of smart water, but last few days it has started making me sick. lovely! 😀

    Keep on pressing on girl — you are doing well.

    • Andie says:

      Thanks for the encouragement – I am NOT going to let December keep me from my next milestone on the BK Club’s Losers Wall of Fame. I hope the smart water stops making you sick.

Leave a Reply

