Zombie Walk at the Gym

I completed Week 4, Day 3 of Couch to 5K this morning. The digital trainer assigned me:

  • Brisk 5-minute warm-up
  • 3-minute jog
  • 1 1/2-minute walk
  • 5-minute jog
  • 2 1/2-minute walk
  • 3-minute jog
  • 1 1/2-minute walk
  • 5-minute jog
  • 5-minute cool-down walk

Jogging took up half of the workout. And I did it! The last 5 minute jog was slow, and the cool-down shifted into glacial as far as pace goes, but I did it.

Next week will kick off with three 5-minute jog, 3-minute walk intervals. I won’t lie. This is getting tough. I need to figure out a better rhythm for breathing.

By the time I got from the 5th floor track to the 2nd floor locker room, I didn’t have much left to give. I started the long walk past 10 or so sinks, and someone said hello to me. I realized then, my eyes snapping back into focus, that I’d been staring straight at this woman who was washing her hands (and who had built up a super-impressive lather doing so). My arms were just hanging, and I was breathing through my mouth, quite loudly.

I apologized for staring, and she laughed just a little bit, which suggested to me that she was now a little uncomfortable with this whole exchange.

I may need to take an extra cool-down lap or two so I don’t get a reputation as being a zombified mouth-breather at the gym.

This entry was posted in diet, exercise and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Zombie Walk at the Gym

  1. Since I do my work out at home I haven’t been called a zombie yet or maybe it’s only because it isn’t part of my 4 years old vocalubary yet 🙂

  2. Shonnie says:

    OR … when you feel like that … take the elevator down. No need to FALL down the stairs and have to wait months to start over again. Can you tell I have done things like that? Shower diving is a sport you know.

    • Andie says:

      I’ve definitely had my share of amazing and athletic falls from a standing position – I don’t even need stairs or water to up the challenge factor.

Leave a Reply

