Dream Eating

I was on track for Friday to be another successful day, and made it all the way to dinner before the evening devolved.

I ate well—roasted chicken, asparagus, and carrots—and drank sparkling water. My three dining companions were on good behavior even after they split four bottles of wine among themselves, but once they were gone, my husband and I had a (metaphorical) knock-down, drag-out, bare-knuckles fight.

I ought to know by now not to engage when the person I’m arguing with is drunk and it is late at night. I repeatedly tried to walk away, asking to continue the discussion at a time when we could address the issues we were fighting over more constructively.

I ought to know by now that trying to table things because a fight is not going constructively doesn’t work, either. Can a fight even be constructive? I sort of think that once things have devolved into the stage at which you call them a fight, that means you’ve moved beyond the possibility of constructive conversation.

I went to bed short of my 10,000-step goal for the day, and then, of course, I didn’t really sleep all that much or all that well.

The one dream I had, which lasted all night long, as far as I can tell, was that my mother had four or five chocolate cakes in her freezer, and I kept having to go get things out of the freezer, which meant that eventually, I was eating cake when I opened the freezer. Most of the cakes had blue sprinkles on them, either on top or actually mixed into the frosting. Lots of blue sprinkles.

I opened our freezer when I woke up, wondering if my mother had, in fact, put cake in it. She had not.

I suppose I should be relieved that I have managed to sublimate my urge to eat when upset into an urge to dream about eating. I’m not sure that dreaming about binging on chocolate cake is any healthier than actually doing it, but then again, no calories.

I’m really not sure the significance of the blue sprinkles. Any thoughts?

Saturday, I made sure to not only reach 10,000 steps, but to get an extra 3,300 on top of that, so my weekly average will balance.

And, I actually jogged out in the neighborhood! I went for 30 minutes, running one block, then walking one. It was fun, and I felt like a total stud.

Still, I can’t claim a full month of 10K days now, and it is only December 11th. 😦

On the positive side, Saturday was a better day. We picked out our Christmas tree in about five minutes, a record time when it comes to tree selection. We may have also decided on a vacation option for January. It’ll all be OK.

This entry was posted in diet, emotional and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dream Eating

  1. Shonnie says:

    I hate arguing/discussing/sometimes even talking with someone who’s brain is non-functional. 😀

    I think most arguments/fights can be made constructive — sounds like to me you guys moved right on into that on Sat. 🙂

    No idea on the blue sprinkles … unless … maybe they represent your being sad. That you were sad about the futiliy of your fight with the hubby and probably that you were sad you couldn’t soothe yourself with food. I think you should be really proud of yourself for moving in a new direction … only dreaming about food. I think you just might have made a life change here girl! 🙂

    • Andie says:

      Thanks – I think I’m definitely on the cusp of that life change. I did have a small episode with 12 M&Ms earlier today that I’m not so proud about, but 12 M&Ms does not a failure make. About half of them were blue. Maybe I just needed to exorcise that demon.

  2. Lucky you! You get to feed on chocolate cake…and don’t even get the calories! I am jealous 😉

Leave a Reply

