Tump Should Be a Word

I was brought up saying tump. Things and people could tump over, and frequently did.

I was also brought up being told that tump was not a word. This left me somewhat confused as to what a word really was, because I used plenty of them, just the same way I used tump, and I couldn’t tell the difference.

Tump is a portmanteau of tumble and dump. Who defines it that way? I do. And, like many other well-know portmanteaus (portmanteaux?), including smog (smoke + fog), brunch (breakfast + lunch), and chortle (chuckle + snort), I think tump needs to just be out and proud on its own as a legitimate word.

I was thinking about this because today, I tumped over a very heavy and very hot cast iron skillet full of onions, carrots, and raw turkey. Tump really does describe what I did better than anything else.

At least I had not yet added the tomatoes.

This entry was posted in cultural and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tump Should Be a Word

  1. Shonnie says:

    I concure … I have used the word Tump for years! 😉

Leave a Reply

