Eating Healthy for the Holidays

I neglected to take a photo of the fabulous veggie array I made for Thanksgiving, but discovered over the weekend that my mom snapped a shot. So, allow me to present:

The white flowers are jicama, which satisfies my need for something super-crunchy. The yellow ones are bell pepper. Inside the cabbage is a Greek yogurt dip with curry and a few drops of honey. Beyond the edge of the picture, past the roasted asparagus in the back, were some roasted green beans, too.

I’ll be cooking for the family at Christmas, so will plan another veggie tray then. And this time, I’ll take my own photos so no veggies get left out.

This entry was posted in diet, food log and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Eating Healthy for the Holidays

  1. heavyevan says:

    That looks amazing! I thought the only vegetables you were allowed to serve during the holidays were mashed potatoes.

    • Andie says:

      🙂

      Growing up, my mother used to put out the relish dish at Christmas and Thanksgiving. On it were black olives, carrots, and celery. No one ever ate any of them. I thought at one point that perhaps they had some kind of religious significance since we always had them but never ate them. At some point, she finally stopped, and we haven’t missed them.

  2. Wow at first look it almost looks like a tray full of candy with all the colors! But it’s a bit healthier than that 😉

  3. Ok… That is the best looking veggie tray! I’m going to have to borrow some ideas for my next partay. 🙂

    • Andie says:

      Thanks! I just woke up to do another one today – I’ve got more time, and I think bigger carrots, so I can do some shapes with those. We’re having people over, many of whom have kids. I’m curious to see if having shapes on the veggie tray will encourage them to eat more.

Leave a Reply

