20 Minutes & The Freak Factor

I jogged for 20 minutes this afternoon!

Until now, the Couch to 5K has been intervals, getting steadily longer. Today’s workout was far less complicated and much more intimidating all at once: 5 minute warm-up, jog for 20 minutes, cool down for 5 more.

I did it! I even had a little left in the tank to push the intensity a bit for the final two laps.

So, I’m sitting here, bragging about my run, and I start to notice a really weird noise on our deck. It is dark, and my husband’s outside. I think huh, I guess he’s moving stuff around, but I can’t picture what would be making the really weird noise, and I don’t hear him walking. I just hear a periodic ka-thunk, ka-thunk, then silence.

He comes back into the house, holding the hula hoop and panting. He’s apparently going to make hula hooping his new end-of-day ab workout. It is hard, he tells me, but he thinks he’s less likely to injure himself than he might doing sit-ups, and, he says, it has the freak factor.

Well, OK. Glad to see him hooping it up! I guess after 6 months, my fitness kick is finally rubbing off on him. ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in exercise and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 20 Minutes & The Freak Factor

  1. I have seen popularity growing for hula hooping again…and it is a great workout! I tried over the summer at a family picnic (before I began losing weight, of course) and could not even complete one full rotation of the hoop before it hit the ground! LOL I am sure I looked absolutely ridiculous doing it, too…but there’s the freak factor I suppose! ๐Ÿ™‚

    -Erica

  2. kalima123 says:

    Good for you!!! That straight jog is quite an accomplishment – you should be proud!!

    And it’s fantastic to hear your husband is joining in as well. Think the hulu-hooping is hilarious!

    Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

