Seasons Eatings!

I’ve gotten myself a little worked up about Christmas Eve, which we’ll be spending with friends, and Christmas Day, which will include two meals with different sides of our families. I’ve been fixated on the food.

I remembered this morning, however, how much I enjoyed my really bland, flavorless steamed chicken and veggie dinner a few weeks ago. The focus was on the people I love spending time with but don’t get to see as often as I’d like.

Suddenly, I realized it won’t be a huge problem to avoid binging on the holiday desserts or potatoes or bread if I just stay focused on what really matters to me—the people I love, the time to spend with them, and the good health to make it all possible. That’s all I need for my holiday eating strategy.

Well, that and a promise to stay on track exercise-wise, and my regular Greek yogurt break at 3 in the afternoon so I don’t get desperately hungry just in time for dinner. But mostly the love and the people and the health. 🙂 I feel more at peace just writing this out loud.

This entry was posted in diet, emotional, goals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Seasons Eatings!

  1. Amen, sister. I’m going to be rereading this particular post over the holiday weekend to help recalibrate me to the “reason for the season”: which for me is family and friends and giving. Thanks, lady!

    • Andie says:

      I’m going to have to re-read it, too. Somebody flipped the sugar switch in my head, and I’m going to have to be mighty vigilant over the next couple of days. I sense another veggie tray extravaganza coming on – I need to channel my urge to fiddle with food!

  2. It is so true! I should focus more on the people too!

Leave a Reply

