Being Present

Happy Christmas!

I ate cake last night, and I enjoyed it. Chocolate buche de noel, filled with mascarpone and shaved chocolate and frosted with chocolate buttercream. Marzipan holly leaves and meringue mushrooms. They looked so real that people had to touch them to see that they weren’t. If I got a good photo, I’ll post it.

I also had a couple of bites of several other desserts, and ate one or two bites of some carb-heavy veggie dishes served with dinner. I planned to do it, I did it, and I don’t regret it. I did start out eating shrimp, however, so I’d have some protein to kick things off, and I ate a fair amount of turkey.

Thinking about food didn’t dominate my night. I’m still at 170 this morning. I’ll walk the dogs twice today, and maybe run.

I made a second cake when I got up today, but I’ve decided I’m not going to have any of this one. It isn’t a favorite, which is part of the reason I made it. I’m also going to stick to my eating plan today—had a shake for breakfast, will have yogurt mid-afternoon, and will have one protein + veggie meal with a carb and one without to round out the day.

I need to let this sugar ease on out of my system. Some folks in my weight loss group are going to do a detox next month, and I’m thinking very seriously about joining them. More on that to come.

For now, on to presents!

This entry was posted in diet and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

