Reluctant Note of a Milestone

I try not to get hung up on numbers, but other people are hung up on this one—most notably, insurance companies. And, in the back of my mind if I’m really honest, me just a little bit.

This morning, I dropped another pound, which took me to 29.7 on the BMI scale. So, according to that somewhat arbitrary and misguided measure of “health,” I am now merely overweight instead of obese.

That may be as good as it gets. To get into the “normal” zone per most BMI charts, I’d have to be 140 pounds. My goal right now is 150 pounds. I have to say, I feel fairly normal right now, so 140 may not ever be a realistic option. We’ll just have to see what happens.

How obnoxious is it to call the categories underweight/normal/overweight/obese? What about recommended instead of normal? Isn’t there any better word? Well, I’m too busy focusing on my health this morning to worry about what some actuary thinks of my weight, so ONWARD!

This entry was posted in diet, goals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Reluctant Note of a Milestone

  1. phat50chick says:

    RIght. What happened to healthy and happy. I’m quite thin at 160 or 170 even though I’m just about 5’5″. if I can lose 30 pounds and get to 170, that would be good, no matter what the morbity charts say

    • Andie says:

      Yep. Happy and healthy should be the measure. And good grief, if we can banish morbidity as the name of the charts, that would make me happier! 😉

  2. kalima123 says:

    You are not alone! When I get too much past 150 I start looking gaunt and unhealthy, even though the “healthy” BMI weight for me at 5’9″ is 135. That’s just way to low. Even though the charts supposedly take into account your frame, thin, medium, or bigger boned (literally!), that’s even off. Morale: feeling healthy is more important than an ins co sponsored chart!

    • Andie says:

      I can only imagine how baggy my neck would start to look if I dropped another 30-40 pounds. My husband assures me that my skin is still resilient. Let’s hope. When I’m feeling low, I think gaunt sounds just lovely, but eeeeewwwww, not really!

  3. Laina says:

    I got into my “normal” BMI zone for a while – below 174 for my height. It was great – I was anemic, I was hungry constantly, and every time I stood up I had to hang on to something for a little bit while my vision came back because I blacked out a little bit and was dizzy, just from standing up. “But I’m a size 10! This is great!”
    Yeah. It was miserable.

    • Andie says:

      I just had to laugh at this – at what someone’s “normal” on a chart can be in real life! Glad you are punishing yourself to maintain an anemic, dizzy normal! 🙂

  4. Ah, “normal.” I use that word myself with a total different meaning and it sets off all sorts of comments when I do so. Congrats! And I think you should find the weight that feels good to you, and where you can comfortably live and maintain.

  5. I just wrote a post about BMI today! Man, it is depressing to find out that you are technically class 1 obese… 😦 but even at my lightest I couldn’t make the “normal” part of the scale. I was still “overweight” and I was going to the gym 5-6 days and week and watching what I ate. The only way I could have dropped into the normal was if I stopped working out so that I lost muscle mass and therefore weight. BMI is not the most accurate tool out there, just something to put a wee bit of perspective on things if you are past the overweight section.

    • Andie says:

      Yeah, I had no muscle mass when I was “normal” – I was tempted not to even note the milestone because the measure is so flawed. And, a big part of the flaw is the nomenclature. Few terms denoting a medical condition carry as much judgement as obese or morbidly obese.

  6. WORD. Recommended is a much better term here: “normal” is loaded with all kinds of implications and assumptions. It’s a powerful number, though, even from the medical/insurance company view. Now you can use their own tool against them, if that makes sense.

    • Andie says:

      Love it – I do intend to use it against them for sure. Lord knows, I’ve been paying their fat tax long enough. (listen to me talking tough about an insurance company, like I’ve got a shot at leveling the playing field …)

  7. nikkianne says:

    Congrats on not being obese!

    It is def a flawed system but I take any excuse I can to celebrate!

  8. I think when YOU know that your are healthy and happy with your body the chart can go to hell 🙂

Leave a Reply

