Many Thanks

When people ask me how I’m losing weight, and I realize I only have time for the elevator answer, I tell them I’m doing 4 things consistently:

  • Eating better.
  • Exercising like crazy.
  • Logging my food.
  • Relying on a network of people to guide and encourage me.

Thanks, as ever, to those of you who are with me on this journey. You are what is different for me this time around, and I know you are in large part responsible for my ability to keep this whole endeavor on track.

I’ve tried before to do it alone, in secret, letting only a couple of people know what is going on. That doesn’t work. It makes it too easy to stop, too easy to phone it in and give up. I’ve learned how important it is to ask for help and say something when things aren’t going the way I want them to go. That is such a valuable lesson for me.

It makes my day when I can see that people are reading my blog, which I’m going to go ahead and count as support and not strangers gawking at a train wreck. 🙂

I draw strength from reading about your successes and challenges, and am so grateful to receive feedback, support, suggestions, and guidance.

WordPress sent out a nifty end-of-year summary report, so I want to send a shout-out to the bloggers who showed up on that report, or who would’ve been on the list if it had gone to 10 instead of just 5 in any category.

My top referrers, commenters, and all-around bad-ass blogger buds:

I’ll cut this short now, lest this list become a duplicate of my blog roll (which I’ll update soon, promise).

I love how diverse this list is: people who’ve reached their goals, people who’ve just started, people whose journeys are incredibly similar to mind and those who are on totally different paths but get me anyway, and people in nearby Gulf Coast states and Germany, Canada, the UK, and what WordPress refers to as IE, which is either a new European entity more formally known as Id Est, but which I suspect is Ireland.

By the way, if you are shaky as far as Ireland, UK, Britain, England, etc., you will find this incredibly helpful:

If you already knew all of that, I hope you get a laugh out of knowing that people like me find videos like this to be useful.

Again, huge, heartfelt thanks to all of you. We’re doing this together, and I wouldn’t want to do it without you.

This entry was posted in emotional and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Many Thanks

  1. Laina says:

    Yeah! Accountability is a big component – not just weigh-ins with a mentor, but accountability with your social group – telling your friends (or fellow bloggers) you’re going to do something, then doing it and basking in their praise!
    I like your blog, thanks for fighting the fight and putting it out there!

  2. That last paragraph – ditto for me:) I thought that year-end report was a hoot. I’d have shared more from mine but it kept crashing my browser!

  3. Thank YOU for all of your comments, support and encouragement! I so appreciate it 🙂

  4. I am grateful too! All the fellow bloggers help me stick with my healthy plans!
    Now that I have watch the video loll, It seems a bit complicated over there and a bit less over here in Canada even with the 2 language thing loll

  5. I couldn’t agree more, Andie. It is really encouraging to know you have (on tap, pretty much) praise, encouragement, advice, and all sorts of shoulders to lean on when things get tough/confusing. I have learned so much “talking” with fellow bloggers, and I am sure I would not be experiencing this kind of success without you all.

    So, thanks right back at ya, Love. 😉

    -Erica

  6. Tickateeboo says:

    You’re an inspiration! 66 pounds lost so far! That’s 4.7 stone! It does encourage to look at other people’s successes. You hear so many stories of yo-yo dieters not realising that there are way more people who lose the weight and then keep it off.

Leave a Reply

