Comfort Food Wasn’t & Was Comforting Last Night

I gave in.

Last night, I was tired, stressed, and probably looked like an old mop in a rusty bucket. When my husband said we should go out to dinner, I bundled up and headed to the car without a second thought.

When he suggested our old neighborhood stand-by Tex-Mex joint, I said sure.

These days, when the Tex-Mex craving hits, we tend to go to some of the pricier/trendier spots, because there, you can get good, fresh fish or prime beef  and grilled veggies and do pretty well (if, like me, you’re going heavier on the protein/veggies side of the menu).

But the old school joints in Houston are sauce joints. What’s good on the menu are not the grilled meats or fish, but the enchiladas smothered in red or green gravy, or anything fried, then covered in cheese. In other words, comfort food.

And boy, did I need to be comforted. I ordered my former usual, La Paola, which is a taco al carbon with queso (beef in a flour tortilla with cheese on top), a chicken enchilada with red gravy (shredded chicken in a corn tortilla with red sauce),  and rice and beans.

Refried beans, please, as if you need to ask.

By the time dinner arrived, although I was still hungry, I’d had time to reflect on what I had ordered. I decided not to regret it, but to eat it carefully.

I split open the taco al carbon and just ate the meat out of the middle. I took two small bites of the tortilla, but really small. I approached the enchilada the same way, dipping the chicken in the red sauce but avoiding the cheese. I mixed a little bit of rice with an even littler bit of beans, and ate three bites.

And that was enough.

I felt like I’d had a treat, but I hadn’t blown past my calorie limits beyond all reason.

What I really learned, too, is that the meat inside those delicious cheese-laden tortillas isn’t really all that good. I don’t think I would order La Paola again. It just won’t tempt me, and wouldn’t be comforting.

Success! I can be comfortable around my old comfort foods and not worry about the power they used to have over me. The ones at that restaurant, anyway . . .

 

This entry was posted in diet and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Comfort Food Wasn’t & Was Comforting Last Night

  1. ladonnabeeker says:

    That’s great, Andie! That’s always the hardest question to answer within yourself: Can you control yourself around those once controlling foods?!? I think you did fabulous! A+ for you, girl! I’m really proud of you. 🙂

  2. We ordered Dominoes tonight and I ate (and didn’t enjoy) 2 slices. It’s official I don’t like Dominoes.

    • Andie says:

      I had a good talk with a friend last night – we’d been locked out of my house & were really hungry (we were just stopping by on our way to eat, and ended up stuck in the backyard for half an hour while we waited for the spare key), and the first restaurant we drove past once we finally got out of the cold was McDonald’s. We admitted that we love it while we’re eating it, but feel so bad immediately upon finishing it that it really took away any desire to actually eat it. We had a totally healthy meal at a restaurant that serves organic, almost entirely local food. Much better than Dominoes or McDonald’s!

  3. run4joy59 says:

    Fantastic!! You’ve learned a valuable lesson.

  4. I would have ate everything lol

  5. Fashion101 says:

    It really is a big step to be able to eat out and realise it is all about portion control and not feeling guilty about leaving food on your plate. I had the same experience this week so to see your’s too is encouraging. Thanks for posting.

  6. nikkianne says:

    Wow! You amaze me. Your willpower is so strong! Congratulations to you. 🙂

    I find that sometimes with food I loved in the past, it’s either not as good as I remember or it upsets my stomach. It’s nice to be able to realize that and move on

  7. When I started reading your post, you had me all worried. lol I was starting to form my comment about how it was okay to have a slip, blah, blah, blah. And now, NOW I don’t have to write that at all. I’m so proud of you! 🙂 hehehehe

  8. Hooray for YOU, Andie! I’m a big-time emotional eater with far too many comfort food staples, and I just know I wouldn’t have had your restraint. You are a rock star! So proud!!!

  9. Pingback: Much, much better. | A lovely project.

  10. Tammy says:

    Wow, that takes some serious willpower. Good for you! I’m not strong enough to do that myself yet, but I like that you were able to still get the taste without eating the whole thing.

    • Andie says:

      I would not have been able to go to that restaurant a few months ago, let alone order a favorite and then not really eat it. It has taken about 6 months for me to get to this point – you can get there, too!

  11. Elizabeth says:

    This is a HUGE success! I am so excited and happy for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

