Hard to be Humbled

This morning, it is hard to type. It was hard to get out of bed. Getting comfortable in bed last night was also kind of a challenge. And carrying both my purse (with straps that go over my shoulders) and a tote bag (ditto on the shoulder straps) with my laptop in it? I had to put them both down on my car hood and think strategically about the best way to hold them both while also carrying my water bottle.

Humble is about all I have the energy to be after yesterday’s workout with the trainer.

In case there was any doubt, while I’ve done a decent job of building some limited cardio endurance, I have the core strength of limp celery, the coordination of a drunk kitten, and the muscle tone of a piece of bologna.

At one point, I was doing triceps extensions, and I simply could not pull the weight forward. Just couldn’t move it. The trainer look confused, like she’d never seen someone whose muscle just would not do what it was being told. I felt confused, because that hasn’t ever happened to me, either. But there I was, unable to budge the weight.

We actually think there may be something going on in one of my shoulders because of how inflexible and spastic I looked doing a few of the exercises she put me through. I was hoping she’d pick something else for me to do, or suggest a massage, but later, I realized that I’m just not in great shape.

My push-up form was horrendous, and there was nothing I could do about it. I just did not have the strength to push through and look in control.

I guess the plus side is that I should be able to see some improvement as I develop and train, but I won’t lie, my ego took a hit.

I won’t like to you, but I will confess again, I did lie to the trainer. I didn’t tell her I was too week to work out last week because of the detox, but said I had the flu or something. I mean, it felt like the flu, aches and chills and weakness, but it was just easier to tell her I was sick instead of I was following some wacky diet protocol that didn’t do very much for me in the end other than set me back.

I’m so glad I didn’t tell her my blog name when she asked! Can this be our secret? I hope you won’t think less of me. I promise I won’t lie to her about anything else.

This entry was posted in diet, exercise and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hard to be Humbled

  1. My trainer doesn’t know I blog!

  2. lol You are not the only one who has bologna muscles but at least you have the courage to put yourself out there!

  3. J. says:

    nice thing coming from a low base is you’ll see some decent early progress (just don’t expect it to keep going at that pace). And I have no issues parsing the truth to people you barely know yet.

    • Andie says:

      I’m about to head back to the gym – I am somehow more sore today than I was the day after the workout! It did occur to me that I’ll have to see some rapid results – the year I learned to play ice hockey, after ice skating only 5 or 6 times in my life, I got most improved at the 1-week camp! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Andie – your post made me laugh out loud, literally. If I had been drinking anything, it would have been all over my computer screen and keyboard. I only laugh because I remember those days…quite well, in fact. The days where I actually thought the trainer was just *trying* to make a fool out of me…just for sheer entertainment purposes. I found myself really wondering, “Could I *really* be *that* out of shape?!” And I was. It was madness.

    Here’s the thing, though. I’ve been training for roughly 22 weeks (probably a couple more than that, honestly) and it never gets easy. Of course, the goal is never to make the workouts “easy.” If; however, I could go back and do exactly what she had me doing the first two or three times I worked out with a trainer, I could knock that stuff out quickly (and probably without breaking a sweat). My endurance, strength, courage (this is a big one), and flexibility have improved tremendously! Notice, though, I did not put coordination or balance on that list…because I still stink at those things. LOL – I am working on them, though…consciously and often (every single day). Forward lunges (you know, the regular kind) I can do like a pro and never even wobble. However, backward lunges (same move, only you step backwards instead of forward) I look a lot like my legs are composed of only Jell-O. I wiggle back and forth…and on occasion have to stand up early because I was about to completely fall over. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    All that being said, though, I love working out with my trainer. She is constantly pushing me in new ways and challenging me to try a little more, go a little longer, etc. I am always trying something new every time I work out with her, and I like that. Especially when she has me do something I really didn’t think I was going to pull off to begin with. ๐Ÿ™‚

    -Erica

    • Andie says:

      I’m glad to be pushing myself – clearly, I need the push! I think the funniest thing I’ve noticed is that when I’m doing anything that requires alternating sides (especially lunging while moving forward across the room) takes ALL my concentration in a way that seems comical. I may need to tell her to just start prompting me with left … right … left … so I can focus on form instead of wondering whether I just lunged on this leg. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

