Gorilla Warfare

Yes, I know the term is actually guerrilla warfare, but I’m taking about the new exercise app I’m using to declare war on this momentary stall in my progress.

Since limp celery seems the most accurate way to describe my arm strength, and since Thursday’s appointment with the trainer is fast approaching, I knew I couldn’t wallow and do nothing to prepare myself.

When we went to the country for the first week of the year, I downloaded an exercise app that I promptly ignored. Monday night, however, lying in bed after not getting in my 10,000 steps, I remembered it. I had wanted to get in a brief walk, but we were exhausted, plus, we’d rushed home to watch Downton Abbey so were already hunkered down in bed.

My husband was already asleep. The dogs were mellow. I figured why not?

I actually started on Day 2 instead of Day 1, because I hate push-ups. Day 2 was 2 rounds of 15 Supermen and 15 Dead Bugs. Yesterday, I did Day 1, which was 4 rounds of 8 squats, 4 lunges (but I accidentally did 8) and 10 modified push-ups. And I did all 40 push-ups! This morning, 4 rounds of 10 squats and 10 push-ups. I’m about to start it on it.

Later this year, I’m going to be away from my gym for a month. I’m trying to develop an arsenal of exercises that I can do with minimal equipment, which is something I’ve not been able to accomplish in the past.

Who knew the iPad and iPhone could be great exercise equipment? Between Couch to 5K helping me build a running habit, and Gorilla Workout un-noodling my arms and strengthening my core, plus the gazillion fitness videos on YouTube, I think I’ll be a-OK when I’m on gym hiatus.

This entry was posted in diet, exercise and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gorilla Warfare

  1. Shonnie says:

    Yea! You go girl! 😀

Leave a Reply

