Confession

I know there are no bad foods, but I’ve pretty much eliminated fruit juice from my diet. You know the accusations—high in sugar, doesn’t have the fiber that the whole fruit does, often has added sugar.

I’m usually fine without juice, but some mornings, I crave orange juice.

Is it wrong that on those mornings, I make a double serving of the orange-flavored Metamucil to satisfy the craving? If it’s wrong, I’m not sure I want to be right.

This entry was posted in diet, humor and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Confession

  1. I haven’t had juice in so many years I can’t remember. I much prefer to eat my calories:) But for a long time I started each day with a glass of orange flavored Crystal Lite.

    • Andie says:

      I had a pomegranate lemonade Crystal Lite phase a few months ago, but I’ve noticed the last few little packets have just been sitting there for awhile …

  2. Elizabeth says:

    ” If it’s wrong, I’m not sure I want to be right.” <—– I LOVE this! 🙂

    I can't keep orange juice in the house or I will drink the entire container. The aftermath of doing so is never pretty. I haven't thought of the Metamucil idea. Hmmm. I have used a serving, or 4 tables, of chewable Airborne on occasion to fulfill my similar craving. 🙂

    • Andie says:

      I will sometimes have a Tums – calcium! – when I’m craving something sweet. The chalkiness confuses my taste buds long enough for me to focus on something else.

  3. Shonnie says:

    I eat my orange juice — along with the pulp and the peel. I know I am cracked. Yes, I shoot for organic ruff raw peel, but sometimes I just gotta eat even the died peels. hehehehe

    • Andie says:

      OK, you eat the peel? Really? I’ve only done that once it has been boiled in sugar for hours, although I have a lemon muffin recipe that uses the whole lemon, peel & all, and it is good. Still cooked, though. We always knew you faced the world a little differently!

  4. I think it’s a wise choice and I did the same a few years ago. You could always cut yourself an orange in the morning and juice only 1 orange to satisfy your craving instead of a big glass, after all it’s not like it’s cool-aid!

    • Andie says:

      True – we do get awesome juice oranges in Texas most years, and squeezing just a bit & drinking it super-fresh isn’t necessarily unhealthy at all.

  5. I don’t drink juice often because of the calories and superior nutrition of the real fruits. Here’s one strategy that you may like. My kids drink orange juice from those tiny bathroom cups. It controls portions (they think its fun) but still gives them some juice. That’s the only juice or flavored drink we have in the house – everything they drink is water or milk. I just do water or decaf tea/coffee.

    • Andie says:

      It is funny, because I’m generally pretty content with water all day long. I absolutely get that your kids think the special cups are fun – I have some small juice glasses that I really love, and so enjoy using them. I tend to use them for sparkling water, which means I’m constantly refilling my glass, but with sparkling water, that’s not really an issue. 🙂

Leave a Reply

