The Grouchy One in Spin Class

I did a spin class yesterday, which was my challenge to myself for April. A few thoughts:

  • If I’ve come to a point at which taking one class over the course of the month is my only challenge, perhaps I need to push myself a leeeetle harder.
  • Those seats never do get more comfortable.
  • My legs were burned after 40 minutes, but my heart rate never got above 131. Running pushes it up into more of the 150 range, which is ~75% of my max heart rate. Calorie burn was about the same. What does that mean?

The guy teaching the class could not have been nicer. It was the intro class, so very basic with an emphasis on getting used to the various settings and types of exercises.

I feel badly, because I know I wasn’t giving good body language during the class, and after, he asked what I thought. I told him the truth: I enjoyed it, was puzzled that I was having such a hard time getting my heart rate up, and that I wondered if there was a class on the schedule at any point which featured grown folks’ music.

Yes, I actually asked for grown folks’ music.

I told him I’ve made it to 41 without having to listen to a complete Lady Gaga song (relax – I’ve listened to tons of Madonna songs the whole way through, which I think should count for something here), and didn’t understand how anyone could operate a spin class without at least one James Brown song on the play list. Or at least something with a beat that doesn’t come from a drum machine.

Also, now I know that Train is to blame for that annoyingly catchy song that name-checks Mr. Mister.

I may have to create my own spin play list and see if I can push my heart rate up on my own. I wish gyms would let members use the sound systems in the studios when classes weren’t scheduled. I’ll have to look into it.

I don’t think the music is the only reason I’m grouchy. I’m stuck right at 75 pounds lost. Now, all things being equal, that’s a not bad place to be stuck, but I’d like to break on through this plateau, and the only way that is going to happen is if I stop saying I want to do it and start doing it. No chocolate snacking, no bread at every opportunity.

Onward!

This entry was posted in diet, exercise and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Grouchy One in Spin Class

  1. The seats might not get more comfortable but there are things you can do and your butt will hurt less over time, but maybe not if you only go once a month:) When I take class I bring my own gel seat cover, very cheap from Target, and I wear padded bike shorts. Helps a lot.

    • Andie says:

      I had some pretty decent padded shorts, but I’m not sure yet if I’m going to spin often enough to justify the investment. The slip-on seat cover may be enough for now if I can find one – I was *just* next to Target. Should’ve checked my blog before shopping!

  2. The padded bike shorts like the ones cyclists wear are definitely a must if you are going to be riding a bike, stationary or regular for any protracted length of time. One suggestion, avoid the cheap knock off brands. You’ll eventually realize that they are not constructed well enough. My personal favorite is the Pearl Izumi brand. Expect to pay around $80 but they last for 2-3 years of usage 3-4 times a week or longer if you use them less. I used to ride Centuries, 100 mile bike rides back in the day so my shorts *ahem* saw a lot of use. 🙂

    And about that plateau. I feel your pain. Hang in there; and try to take a glass half full point of view. A plateau means things are stable. While that means there is no additional weight loss it also means there is no additional weight *gains*.

    Cheers!

    • Andie says:

      Excellent point on the stability of the plateau. Thanks for helping me turn that around.

      • You’re very welcome. We’ve all been at spots where our progress slows to a crawl. The trick is to not let a plateau turn into a decline. 🙂 After all, the ultimate goal is indeed, drum roll please.. a plateau! One where we’ve met our goal and we maintain it. Those intermediary plateaus are “recharging stations” where we rest and get ready for the next push toward our final goals. Cheers! 🙂

  3. I’d heard at one point that time of day can greatly affect what you burn…maybe you should look into that and see if a slight switch in workout hours would bounce your body off that plateau. 🙂

    • Andie says:

      Funny you should mention that – I’ve actually been shaking it up, schedule-wise, but not because of any strategy. Just because my schedule has been wonky. I’m going to try to keep mixing it up to the extent I can manage that.

Leave a Reply

