Daily Veggies

As I’ve ridden this slump, I have managed to track my eating most days, although I just noticed that Saturday-Sunday-Monday are totally blank in my Lose It log. Starting Monday, however, I made a concerted effort to eat veggies at every meal, because I realized that I’ve been slacking.

In the past 6 months or so, my most regular mid-afternoon snack was Greek yogurt, often with blueberries, sometimes with walnuts. As I added more carbs, I started adding not only fruit, but 1/2 c. of Kashi Go Lean cereal. That added a single carb serving (15g), but those carbs are balanced by 6.5g of protein.

The whole meal—yogurt, Kashi, blueberries—has 44.4g carbs and 27.6g protein. It has become my regular breakfast. Once or twice a week, when I get busy, it has become a twice-a-day meal.

Not awful, but I’d been letting other carbs sneak in throughout the day while neglecting the fiber-full/filling veggies.

So, after two days of more rigorous veggie eating, part of which has been a return to the protein (eggs) + veggie breakfast, and I’m down 3 pounds since yesterday. NOW, I know that a swing like that isn’t “real,” but I was also down a pound and change at my weigh in last night over the prior week.

I’m not going back to radical low-carb paranoia, but I’m going to re-balance the chemical situation and start to make progress toward losing those final 17ish pounds. Because I got a new bathing suit in the mail last night, and I’m kind of ready to rock it.

This entry was posted in diet, food log and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Veggies

  1. Shonnie says:

    WTG for figuring it out! I am working on the same things. 😀

Leave a Reply

