Well, That Was Unexpected

I had a little binge just now. I ate an entire container of a dessert that I should’ve thrown out after I served it at our party over the weekend. Honestly, it was good, but dang.

While eating it, I signed up to run in the Houston half-marathon in January, 2013.

I’ve always said I would never be so crazy as to run a race like that. Earlier this year, I didn’t even manage to compete in the 5K I signed up for, although admittedly, that was because I got the flu, not because I chickened out.

So, I have a plan for what I’m going to be doing to stay on top of this weight loss now that my 1-year program is ending with our final meeting tonight. I’ll be training to run a little over 13 miles. And, I’m goal-oriented, so you know I want to finish at a pace that allows me to collect the finisher’s t-shirt. I think this means I’ve got about 4 hours to finish, which let’s hope I can do. I’m sure I can. I mean, there’s plenty of time between now and January.

Finishing will be my 42nd birthday present to myself.

When I first started thinking about this, a couple of hours ago, I figured I’d poll y’all to see what you recommended. Now, I suppose I’ll just have to ask for your support, since I went ahead and jumped right into it.

This entry was posted in diet, exercise and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Well, That Was Unexpected

  1. You can do it! In the latest runners world, there is a beginner’s half Marathon training schedule. You should try it!

  2. J. says:

    you can do it!

Leave a Reply

