The Triumphant Return

That may not be an accurate title for this post, but it sounded more hopeful than the first few I wrote. Total collapse? Sheepish admission? Those would perhaps be more accurate, but far less inspiring.

And I need inspiring.

I’m up to 172 pounds. That’s 18 pounds from where I was earlier in the summer when I was two pounds away from my original goal of losing 80 pounds. It means I’m back to having lost just 60 pounds since I started this.

Let’s re-frame. I’ve still lost 60 pounds, which is great. It is 26% of my starting weight. I have to tackle those next 20 pounds to get back to where I was.

I’ve written this so many times before, but apparently it hasn’t stuck yet, so I’ll do it again. I know what it will take to lose those 20 pounds. I need to:

  • Track what I eat so that I can get the appropriate mix of carbs/proteins/fats and ingest a reasonable number of calories relative to my expenditure.
  • Drink plenty of water to stay hydrated and help manage my hunger.
  • Exercise regularly, both strength training and cardio.
  • Stop eating sweets.
  • Stop feeling sorry for myself.
  • Stop pretending that “knowing” what to do is enough, and start DOING it!
  • Come back to this blog, and come back to getting inspired by all of the other bloggers who understand what I’m going through.

Well, that should be easy, right? Hahaha.

I’ve just been in a spiral. My heel pain is still impeding exercise. I suspect I will not be running in the half-marathon in January. I did, finally, get back to the gym and get in the pool. I swam laps for almost 30 minutes on Friday, which was more than I thought I’d be able to do. Yesterday, I ran for about 25 minutes, then iced my foot, which is tender this morning but not as bad as it could be.

I’ve run out of excuses. Some of my go-to outfits are a bit tight, but I’ve gotten rid of all of the bigger clothes, so I can’t go back. I won’t go back. I got on the scale this morning, even though I knew it would be demoralizing to see the number, and I’m writing and about to hit publish, so I can do this.

Onward.

This entry was posted in diet, goals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Triumphant Return

  1. You’re back, you’re back, you’re back, you’re back, you’re back, you’re back, you’re back! And onward, indeed! This is within your grasp, lady!

  2. S.N.S says:

    Welcome back! If this journey was a straight path, we would all coast through it without a single backward glance. It’s not though, there’s peak and valleys and twists and turns. It’s easy to slide down into a valley and takes real determination (that you have in spades!) to climb back up. Onwards indeed – you’ve got this one covered:)

Leave a Reply

