Methadone Ice Cream

See update at the end!

I sometimes point out that, for all of my struggles with overeating, it could be worse. I could have a heroin problem.

By saying I buy into the theory that food addiction exists, I’m not trying to cede responsibility for my actions, I’m just trying to describe in a way others who don’t struggle can understand just how difficult it can be to change what and how you eat even when you know that what you are doing (cake three times a day, three dozen cookies over the course of a weekend) is killing you.

I was hesitant to read the comments on this article at first, because I thought everyone would be critical, but clearly, the concept of food addiction resonates with others.

This week has been tough, but I’ve stayed on top of things. Yesterday, in particular, was super-stressful. I did not have time to exercise, which is not a crisis, as I’d done a 40-minute aqua jog the night before, but it would have helped me blow off some steam. If there had been bad food in the house, I’m not sure I would have been able to resist.

As it was, I ate (not at the same time of day) two Arctic Zero bars. Their website, I just noticed, calls them a protein shake in ice cream form, which is hilarious, and nutritionally just about true. The bars have 85 calories, 7g carbs, 5g fat, and 3g protein, so they’re like a small protein shake with a thin chocolate coating, but hey, better than an Eskimo Pie by leaps and bounds. Just as tasty, though. My methadone ice cream.

Update: A friend (although I was tempted not to call her a friend after she broke my heart with the news) told me that at least one law suit has been filed against Arctic Zero for false advertising. Specifically, the suit alleges, independent analysis shows the calorie count to be higher than advertised. Yuck! I may eat the last bar in the fridge, but I’ll have to wait to see how this shakes out.

This entry was posted in diet and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

