Another Year, Another 5 Pounds

I decided last week that I’d see how things went if I weighed just once a week. Since I was up five pounds this morning, I don’t think I like the waiting one week. I’m pretty sure I’ve not eaten enough for that to actually be REALLY five pounds, but just in case, I can’t take that kind of surprise.

Last week was my 42nd birthday. I’m closer to 200 pounds than I want to be. I did, however, resist the urge to order myself a cake. I cannot tell you how close I was to doing so, bargaining with myself that it would be just for my birthday, just for something special.

We went out to dinner, then went to a specific bakery that has a cake I love. They didn’t have it, so I didn’t have anything. I was a little fixated on cake. I went into another bakery the next day, intent upon getting cake, but walked out empty-handed.

I went to the gym twice last week, and the second time, I was actually able to run two laps without any pain in my foot. Hurray! I’m a little bummed about how out of shape I am, running-wise, but I know how to build back up to that. I can get there.

I’ve also unearthed the 5-pound weights in our bedroom, and have been doing a quick 10-minute workout in the morning. Friday, I saw an article in Shape magazine that showed Jenny McCarthy’s workout, and have to say that one of the exercises she does is pretty killer. I have no idea how to describe it using the right terms for the moves, but basically:

  • Stand with your legs a little wider than shoulder width.
  • Raise your right arm up, holding your weight, palm facing in.
  • Shift weight to your left foot.
  • Bend your right elbow down, so the weight is in front of your face, while raising your right knee up toward your elbow.
  • Put your right leg down while raising your right arm back above your head.
  • Repeat on the left side, and do 8 to 12 reps.

It just feels like it is working the right muscles. So, maybe that’s part of the 5-pound swing, all that new muscle. 🙂 At any rate, I’m nowhere near where I need to be consistency-wise, but I’m working on it, and I haven’t given up, and that’s what counts.

This entry was posted in diet, exercise. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

