Superbowl of Sugar

No, I did not attend a Superbowl party and give in to temptation. I skipped the game entirely and went out with great friends to a new place, only to be completely derailed by the stealth sugar of cocktails.

I’m feeling rather green about the gills this morning and am actually kind of laughing to myself, because it has been a long, long, long time since I’ve been hungover. That realization makes me feel pretty good, as I used to feel this way pretty regularly and now can’t quite recall the last time I indulged like that.

Interestingly, I don’t think I had that much to drink, but several of my drinks (I was refilling my glass before I was finished, so not entirely clear how many drinks that is) were made with ginger ale or Sprite, both full sugar, and I kind of think all of this stomach-churning is more about the sugar than the booze.

I will be atoning with a green smoothie and a rare (at this point, anyway) early-ish morning trip the gym to walk it off. I’m kind of dreading the noise of the smoothie machine, but I’ll manage. Perhaps last night was my rock bottom? Smooth rocks and shallow water if so, but still, I’m clearly at a crossroads of just how long I’m going to tolerate this counterproductive, unhealthy consumption, and being on the brink of being physically ill from it certainly puts it in sharp perspective!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

