Going for 10K

Nikkianne asked earlier this week if I have a 5K in mind that has prompted me to do the Couch to 5K program. I have two in mind, actually, which I suppose means I have 10K in mind.

That number seems to be the theme of the week. I just synced my Fitbit, and realized that Monday-Tuesday-Wednesday were all days when I hit over 10,000 steps. Seems like I ought to try to make it a full 5 days of 10K!

I’m really proud that I’m regularly in the 8,000 to 11,000 range step-wise, because I like to be above average:

Americans are thousands of steps behind other countries when it comes to daily physical activity, according to new research that used pedometers to measure movement.

The study tracked the steps of 1,136 adults around the United States who wore pedometers for two days in 2003. The results were compared to similar pedometer studies in Switzerland, Australia and Japan. The data collected showed that Americans, on average, took 5,117 steps a day, far short of the averages in western Australia (9,695 steps), Switzerland (9,650 steps) and Japan (7,168 steps). (New York Times blog post.)

Set aside, if you please, the fact that 2003 research reported in 2010 might not meet your definition of new. I’m not at all surprised that people in Switzerland and Japan, with their tightly-packed urban spaces and extensive public transportation systems create a populace that walks more than we do.

Photo by tedknudsen via Flickr

I’m also impressed, but not surprised, by the Amish:

An earlier study in 2004 used pedometers to study movement among adults in Amish farming communities. That study showed that Amish men took, on average, more than 18,000 steps a day, and Amish women averaged more than 14,000 steps a day.

I should also note that on none of these 10K+ days did I resort to running in place immediately before bed to break into five digits. It happened organically.

This entry was posted in diet, exercise and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Going for 10K

  1. Pingback: Walking…It’s Healthy | afoodaddict

Leave a Reply

